Uninspired? We’ve Got The Fix!

CLLCTVE TEAM
CLLCTVE
Published in
3 min readJul 18, 2020

Gaining inspiration to do pretty much anything is difficult. Everyone goes through those periods of time where they struggle to function. It takes a lot to sit down and actually start working on something, whether it’s college assignments, projects or attempting to find an idea for a new business, inspiration doesn’t come easily and when it does, sometimes the results aren’t as we hoped.

Here are some tips I use as an aspiring screenwriter and current law student to get through my hardest uninspired periods.

Music

One of the first things I turn to when I’m really struggling is Spotify. I have various playlists, ranging from a general mix of songs I like to a playlist full of chill lo-fi bops. When I am trying hard to write for a TV show I’m currently working on, I turn to the playlist of songs that I have visualized to form the soundtrack.

I find music to be very grounding and it helps calm my mind especially if I have a deadline coming up and I need to write an essay or some coursework. Many people find music distracting which is why if I am trying to focus on university work, I turn the volume down low and pick a playlist I have full of instrumental lo-fi tunes.

If you need music to help get you in the mood for something, for example, writing something or to pump you up, it helps to listen to music which matches your mood and so in this circumstance, something more upbeat.

Work with Friends

I can’t stress this one enough. Whoever came up with the phrase two minds are better than one was not lying. When you put your mind together with someone else, you would be surprised by the kinds of ideas you come up with. You gain a lot through conversations with people and a lot of the time it points you in a direction you wouldn’t have otherwise considered.

If you have people in the same class or working on a similar project, then it can be helpful to get their input on things and see how they would address the situation.

Take a Break

Let’s get one thing straight. Life is busy and hard and sometimes we just get so caught up in our routine that we forget to just stop and take a breather. It’s easy to live day-by-day and complete one thing and then move on to the next, but in doing so we clog up our minds to the point that we’re just not working as efficiently as we normally do.

It pays to stop, breathe, and just switch your mind off for a while. It could be ten minutes, or it could be a day; take a shower, go for a walk even go and watch a film or grab some dinner. Just do something to take your mind off your deadlines or that one thing you need to get done or an idea you need to come up with. You would be surprised by the things that can happen when your mind isn’t on what you need to do.

A clear mind provides fresh ground to plant ideas upon.

Ask for Help!!

We live in a day and age where everyone wants everyone else to think that we have it all together and so we try to seem as independent as usual when in fact we are drowning in the deep end. It takes a lot of vulnerability to ask for help when you need it but when you do, it will honestly be so much healthier for you than choosing to deal with things alone.

These four tips have helped me to deal with deadlines not only in college but also in terms of writing the show I am currently working on with a friend.

Be sure to sign up to join our waitlist + receive exclusive updates about our platform’s launch.

Written by Moyo Kadri

--

--