My Favorite Death Metal Albums

Not a professional ranking just assuring people I do enjoy death metal

Ryan O'Connor
Clocked In Magazine

--

Some of these are bands I don’t like at all

I’ve talked a lot of trash about death metal recently and I feel like people will start to believe I hate death metal. I don’t hate death metal, I love it in fact. How could I resist nasty ass guitar riffs, blasphemous lyrics and at times grotesque artworks that offend Christian parents everywhere?

I am in fact very picky with my death metal because I feel it’s a bloated genre. So many bands sound the same and the trend of making clean sounding death metal records, you know the ones where the guitars are just too precise, makes me want to puke. I have listened to my fair share of death metal and I’d like to share with you, my loyal readers whom I appreciate so very much, some of my favorite death metal releases. Let’s get into it:

Cannibal Corpse: Tomb of The Mutilated

I pick on Cannibal Corpse a lot because I think Chris Barnes is insufferable and makes awful music nowadays but when he was in Cannibal Corpse it all seemed to make sense and actually be controversial. Now it’s all just kind of corny. There’s no denying the riffs on…

--

--

Ryan O'Connor
Clocked In Magazine

BA — Bridgewater State University, English Student w/ Minor in Latin American/Caribbean Studies Music journalist