One Sentence Reviews: Saturday March 6, 2021

Some speedy reviews to close out the week

Ryan O'Connor
Clocked In Magazine
4 min readMar 6, 2021

--

I feel like a lot of music came out in the last few days and I never get a chance to review all of them. I try to keep up with it all but lack of focus really does a number on me being able to listen to and write a worthwhile review on new music. So, I’ve decided to cut the tree down with a chainsaw rather than an axe and speed round some reviews. Some of these may end up getting full reviews somewhere down the line. Anyway, here’s some recent releases reviewed in one sentence.

Albums & EP’s:

Charlotte Sands: Special

Courtesy of Google

Poppy, punky and filled with emotion that I can actually sink my teeth into.

Rating 6.5/10

Terror: Trapped In A World

Courtesy of Google

Don’t expect anything exciting or new from this band ever again.

Rating: 4/10

Glitterer: Life Is Not A Lesson

Courtesy of Bandcamp

Ned from Title Fight has been busy since they broke up and it seems to be quite worthwhile.

Rating: 7/10

Black Country, New Road: For The First Time

Courtesy of Bandcamp

I’m not a huge fan of this experimental post punk shit but this is genreless and that’s pretty cool.

Rating: 6.5/10

BigGhostLtd.: If It Bleeds It Can Be Killed

Courtesy of Bandcamp

Serious mafioso raps for the new age and while it sounds a bit dusty you can’t help but admire the legends skills.

Rating: 8/10

Architects: For Those That Wish To Exist

Courtesy of Google

Sounds like what you’d get if Imagine Dragons tried to make a metal album.

Rating: 1/10

TCIYF: Hammer Roid

Courtesy of Bandcamp

Something outside the box that’s actually fun and energetic despite its lo-fi production.

Rating: 7/10

Denzel Curry & Kenny Beats: Unlocked 1.5

Courtesy of Genius

Glitchy, dense, engaging and it kinda gives me the same feeling of Cannibal Ox’s The Cold Vein.

Rating: 8/10

Drake: Scary Hours 2

Courtesy of Genius

When I listened to that long winded ass verse on “Lemon Pepper Freestlye” I just pictured Drake crying to himself in his bathtub like a sadboi Tony Montana.

Rating: 3.5/10

Singles:

AFI: “Looking Tragic/Begging For Trouble”

Courtesy of Genius

Ehhh, I feel like I heard these on Ceremony’s last album only much better.

Rating: 5/10

Maroon 5 & Megan Thee Stallion: “Beautiful Mistakes”

Courtesy of Discogs

Everything Adam Levine does is water trash but Megan actually put in the effort to salvage the track as best she could.

Rating: 2.5/10

Show Me The Body: “Survive”

Courtesy of Google

Like they took Ministry’s The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Waste and made it fucking harder.

Rating: 9/10

Vybz Kartel: “Portmore City”

Courtesy of Google

Decent track with his usual lyrical prowess but not as exciting as a Kartel song should be.

Rating 5.5/10

Silk Sonic (Bruno Mars & Anderson .Paak) “Leave The Door Open”

Courtesy of Genius

Someone help me, I’m feeling again!

Rating: 8/10

Green Day: “Here Comes The Shock”

Courtesy of Exclaim!

Don’t believe their lies.

Rating: 1/10

That’s about all I’ve heard so far this past week that I feel like doing so I hope you enjoyed!

--

--

Ryan O'Connor
Clocked In Magazine

BA — Bridgewater State University, English Student w/ Minor in Latin American/Caribbean Studies Music journalist