Finding Your Path as a Creative with Colin Hesterly

Tristan Almario
Closer&Closer
Published in
3 min readAug 13, 2020

Written by Colin Hesterly

Illustration by Kati Szilágyi

I’ve been in the animation business for about 10 years now. I’ve been a director, an animator, changed my style a million times, and have had enough anxiety over my work to last me another 10 years. If you’re wondering what advice someone who’s been in the industry for what feels like forever has to give other creatives out there, then you’re in luck. Here are my 3 best pieces of advice for anyone looking to hear it:

Try lots of things early

I went to Full Sail University back in the day, and my career really began with a series of opportunities that I just couldn’t pass up. I initially thought I wanted to do letter pressing and screen printing, then I found animation and dove headfirst into that, and then I switched from 3D animation to 2D just because it felt right. Through this process of trial and error, I realized the importance of trying everything early on while you still have the time. It’s the best and fastest way to figure out what you’re good at, what you’re not good at, and what you enjoy. Once you find it, you can focus on going full steam ahead in that direction.

Build a work family

This one sounds corny, but let me explain. This “work family” is anyone around you that gets what you’re doing and has your best interest at heart. It means finding a community of people who do something similar to you, who can empathize and offer advice or critique as needed. It means finding a rep (if you decide that you want representation) that you trust, someone that you actually enjoy having conversations with. Make sure you’re surrounded by others who you actually like working with and you’ll be a lot happier.

Never stop preparing for the future

Things happen. There are going to be times (like right now) when it feels like the world has stopped and you just want to bury your head in the sand. I think the main thing I’ve learned during this stage in my career is to always keep working and preparing for future work. Never stop building professional relationships, or improving your craft, or looking for work, because all of those things are building towards a successful future for you, and the future will always come no matter what.

About Colin Hesterly:

Colin Hesterly is an award-winning, Tiki Drinkie loving, Jungle Cruise vibin’ California native, working as a Director and Illustrator within the animation industry. Inspired by a sense of wonder and nostalgia, his career began as a freelance artist for a variety of companies and brands around the globe. His success as a storyteller led him to produce six animated short films that each garnered a Vimeo Staff Pick. His creative process focuses on the art of 2D Animation and character-driven narrative. With work spanning across a broad range of artistic fields, from TV to Film Titles, Short Films, and Commercials.

Listen to the Crash Courses Podcast!

--

--