Let AI Find Your Next Outfit

Dylan Skelly
Closet AI
Published in
4 min readFeb 8, 2021

We started Closet AI for two reasons: fashion is expensive and finding fashionable things online is really hard. Many of you can probably relate to the process of going through hundreds of items on a clothing website just to end up with one of two things: an empty cart or an empty wallet. I remember one particular instance where I scrolled through page after page on Asos and found the process not only exhausting but moreover unnecessary. I thought how much easier would it be if there was an app that could use AI to just build my outfit for me? So I looked. I started searching for an app that I could just give an item and have it come up with items that would go well with it. And to my surprise, I just couldn’t find it.

This is not to say the fashion industry isn’t using AI to completely change the game; they are. One visit to the fashion section of Amazon will show you just how far we’ve come in terms of AI being able to help people with their search for the perfect outfit, but I had a couple of problems with the status quo. One was that these amazing feats of engineering almost seemed to be operating in a silo, the AI was used to find other great outfits on the same site but nothing was giving me everything across a lot of different locations in one place. I feel like I really wanted a Google Image Search of sorts for identifying fashionable items that would go with the things I already owned in the price range I could afford.

I didn’t really want or have the money for a personal stylist service to help me discover my fashion sense, I have a closet full of clothes at home that would more than suffice for identifying what kind of clothes I liked and didn’t like. If I wanted something that went well with my favorite sweater, and had a 20 dollar budget, I wanted to be able to find that for free and with no worry that the things being suggested to me were based on how much commission or how high the profit margins were on the item. And in my search I really felt like I was coming up empty on it, thus Closet AI was born.

At Closet AI, our goal is to contribute to the democratization of fashion. Its a lofty aspiration and not one that we’ve come close to achieving yet, but what we have done is create a product that will let you search over 100000+ items from 100+ brands all based on an image of an item you like / own. Jut snap a pic or grab one from the interwebs of a clothing item you think looks good, select the items you’d like to pair with it and your price range and let our AI do the rest. In a matter of seconds we’ll take your item and compare it against our AI which has been trained based on a dataset of items that stylists said looked nice together. Basically, it is going to try its best to mimic the stylists choices on 100000+ items to determine what will look good with this item in a fraction of the time a human being could.

Upload an image
Let the AI do its magic and recommend some outfits!

We recently launched and are still in our infancy, but if you would like to take us for a test drive please do at closet-ai.com! We’re constantly adding new items from so many new and exciting brands, and would really like to make it a priority to get in contact with small businesses to help them get their products listed on our site. We offer a unique opportunity since at Closet AI we don’t optimize by brand name, we just put people in touch with items that look good at the price point that they want it at. Thats it.

We don’t run ads and we only make money when you like an item enough to buy it which gives us a real vested interest in making sure our AI performs the best job possible in delivering valuable clothing items to you quick and free. If you are a small business that would like to get your items on our site, or have any feedback / feature requests please feel free to reach out at team@closet-ai.com. We’re iterating on the product at a rapid rate and constantly adding new items so we’d be more than happy to hear anything your willing to let us know about how we can improve!

--

--

Dylan Skelly
Closet AI
Editor for

Computer science student at the University of Central Florida. Feel free to connect with me: https://dylanskelly.me/