The problem with IKEA (or “DIY sales”)

Connor Diemand-Yauman
Closing time
Published in
3 min readFeb 2, 2015

--

DISCLAIMER: In this post, I use IKEA as a metaphor to illustrate a common sales faux pas. To be clear, I have no problems with IKEA. In fact, I love the company and think it has a brilliant business model. I write this to quell any IKEA groupies out there who react negatively to the title of this post (some of whom have already contacted me, outraged, after reading). Remember- I’m on your side!

Look around my bedroom and you’ll find an IKEA Brusali Bed Frame ($189) next to an IKEA Galant Desk ($79.99) (paired with that perfectly good chair I found next to a dumpster (FREE!)). I even splurged for those IKEA paper lanterns ($24.99), confirming that I still have the taste and spending habits of a college freshman.

IKEA’s business model works- I’m living proof of that fact. But during a recent pilgrimage there, I realized that the very process that makes IKEA so successful is also what causes deals in other contexts to fall through: overemphasizing the pitch, and under-emphasizing follow-up.

At IKEA, the magic happens in the showroom. It’s here where creativity and inspiration flourish, where no idea or paper mâché floor lamp is too big. As I walk through the tastefully-modern office space or meticulously-designed bedroom, I allow myself, for just a moment, to pretend that it’s actually my space. Perhaps I even get under that plush down comforter and pretend I’m snuggling with my lover on a cold day, or take off my pants to really feel the faux shag rug on my skin, toasting passersby with a glass from my new IKEA dish set (I’ve never done this before, I swear).

Let’s call this the “showroom stage,” where we come together with potential partners, imagine the possibilities of success, and put all our available options on the (IKEA Bjursta) table ($963). Not only is this a great place for unrestricted brainstorming, it’s also a prime setting for establishing and strengthening new relationships. There are a number of strategies for getting the most out of this stage, many of which are outlined in this great post by IDEO. Good sales and partnership opportunities should, and often do, begin right here.

But as you descend into the lower levels of IKEA, you’re quickly confronted with a harsh reality: you’re alone in the execution of that inspiring showroom vision. No one is going to hold your hand as you walk down the towering aisles searching for the right items, or help you awkwardly load them onto that cold, rigid dolly with the broken wheel (why do I always get the one with the broken wheel?). Forget trying to fit that bed frame into your coupe: it’s on you to borrow your friend’s truck. And you’re on your own with assembly too, so I hope you brought some knee pads and one of those tiny L-shaped carpal tunnel wrenches.

Let’s call this the “self-assembly” stage. While this works beautifully for IKEA (and ingeniously allows them to cut costs), it’s insufficient when trying to close in other settings. When working with prospective partners or trying to close a deal, the “self-assembly stage” should be avoided at all costs: never leave potential partners in the showroom, or expect them to construct the furniture according to spec.

Instead, go the extra mile and do the work for them. If you know they’re presenting this opportunity internally (they always are if you’ve done your job), send them a polished presentation; if they hint at needing additional data, run an analysis. Avoid being reactive: if they just purchased a new bed frame, don’t wait for them to call with problems. Instead, show up at their doorstep on the day of assembly with the necessary materials, freshly-baked cookies, and a can-do attitude.

DIY makes for a great business, but an awful closing strategy.

--

--