Spot-On Fleet Admin: 13 Basic AWS EC2 Mgmt Console Filters in Action

I often wrestle with AWS EC2 Management Console filters and Amazon’s documentation is light on this subject. When you need to administer fleets of VMs that are not all the same, you tend to look for helpful filters to slice and dice the EC2 instances into smaller groups in order to perform cost analysis and troubleshooting.

I use the term fleet loosely. AWS provides a feature named Amazon EC2 Fleet, and for the purposes of this article the term simply means a lot of VMs and not that particular feature.

AWS provides a Management CLI as well as Management Console access. The following examples are for the latter.

Here are some basic common filter groups I use. Note that to perform an inverse search, you simply prefix the search value with an exclamation mark (!).

1. I want to see all running instances…

2. I want to see all recently launched instances:

3. I want to see all instances NOT terminated…

4. I want to see all running instances that are spot…

5. I want to see all running instances that are spot and c5.2xlarge

6. I want to see all running non-spot instances:

7. I want to see ANY c5 series instances

8. I want to see any VMs that require my attention:

9. I want to see any VMs that requires AWS’s attention:

10. I want to see any VMs launched with a key that begins with ‘r’:

11. Search by Custom Tag:

12. Search by Instance ID:

13. Search by Private IP Address:

--

--