Apple Macintosh Network Traffic

Noise on your network makes it more challenging to find what matters.

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
7 min readJun 16, 2021

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. The Code.

🔒 Related Stories: OS and IoT Security | Network Security | Apple Mac Security

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have you ever looked at how much network traffic an Apple Macintosh generates on startup and as it continues to run? I am always monitoring the traffic on my network and each time I start up my system I see what seems like an excessive amount of traffic from Apple Macintosh computers. Perhaps it is all necessary but I suspect there are some things here I don’t need.

[Update: Have some posts at the bottom where I’m turning various services off to try to reduce network traffic and services I don’t need. Why is this not simple to find?]

I briefly explored how to turn off things like Apple Push and didn’t seem to be a simple task to permanently turn it off. Additionally, there are some services I only want to run at the point I want to update my system. For the average…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award