Art Deco Bathroom and Other Projects in 2022

Lessons learned from my house and plans for the new year

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

--

Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | Sign up for the Email List

Time for my end of year post, which often has not a lot to do with cybersecurity or cloud security. This year, besides my security research, training, penetration tests, and assessments I spent a lot of time working on house projects.

Sometimes I consider writing a blog about all the construction and remodeling projects I’ve worked on in my houses over the years. But since I can’t keep up with my cybersecurity blog consistently as I would like, how could I possibly keep up with a blog on yet another topic?

Anyone who is interested in this topic gets one long blog post explaining the lessons learned this year while working on house projects — and some of the lessons are applicable to cybersecurity as well. One of this year’s project was an art-deco themed bathroom. We also added backyard pavers, a grill gazebo, fixed a hallway, and prevented my office ceiling from caving in (I hope). I also restored what may be a 1930’s or so chandelier I bought off eBay. It might not be that old but in any case it worked out great.

Follow along for some photos and the journey from start to finish. Learn not to make the…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award