Closing An AWS Account Associated With AWS Control Tower

ACM.185 Removing AWS Control Tower management of an AWS Account

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
6 min readApr 10, 2023

--

Part of my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. The Code.

Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | Sign up for the Email List

In my last post in this series I pondered simplifying security in AWS. That’s really what I want to do in this whole blog series, but as you can see it is not simple. Hopefully by the end I will have some code available to help with that.

In some past posts I’ve written about account deletion in an account where AWS Control Tower does not exist. When you have AWS Control Tower set up, things are a bit different. Let’s look at how that works.

First, the instructions say that you can close your account without having to log into the account you are closing.

You can close your AWS Control Tower member accounts from your organization’s…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award