Cybersecurity Time Out

A break from cybersecurity to see some beautiful things

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
12 min readApr 6, 2021

--

Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | Sign up for the Email List

You may have seen my other blog posts about travels, road trips, and my move across the county. I took the cross-country move as an opportunity for a break and another road trip. It was so great to finally get out after being extremely cautious and barely leaving my house for so long.

As with cybersecurity we took appropriate measures to reduce risks. I got additional roadside assistance insurance to get help should the car have any issues along the way. Both I and my co-pilot on this adventure had had one vaccination shot. I tested negative for the virus before and after the trip. He was tested prior as well and gets temperature checks every day at his work. We wore masks everywhere and stayed in hotels that were taking appropriate precautions. We were otherwise mostly in our car or hiking so felt safe.

As we embarked on our journey, I was reminded of John Kerouac’s On The Road — a book given to me by my good friend that drove with me from Boston to Seattle many years ago. That novel is a free-flowing script reportedly written on a single roll of paper based on the travels of Kerouac and his friends across the United States. Although I don’t relate to everything in that…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award