Delegated Administrator for AWS Organizations

ACM.139b Delegating governance via service control policies to an AWS Governance account

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
8 min readJan 24, 2023

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. The Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Cloud Governance | IAM | AWS Security

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

As I mentioned in the last post, I’d like the governance team to operate out of a governance account and I want to limit activities in the root account. I created a separate account in the last post.

When I used AWS Control Tower to set up my AWS Accounts for this particular implementation it seemed to put a lot of the things it built in the root account. I’m not sure if there’s a way around that and it’s a moot point at the moment. What AWS Organizations does offer is a way to delegate…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award