How to never have a public S3 bucket

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
5 min readJun 21, 2019

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. The Code.

🔒 Related Stories: AWS Security | AWS S3 Buckets | Cloud Governance

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I was creating a simple website for my nephew’s painting business in Tigard, Oregon [Note: he now has a contracting business instead called Redmud Reno in Seattle] in an S3 bucket, and also handled a consulting call on this topic today, so I thought I’d write a quick blog post about it. Do you ever need a public S3 bucket? In a large company, I would say no.

If you aren’t aware, you can host a website in an S3 bucket. It’s really simple and by doing so you don’t have to set up a server. It works well for static websites that don’t need a back end web server or pushing out static files from a dynamic website. You can set up a domain name and point it at the bucket. In this case, I set up a domain to display files from a bucket with the same name. With just a couple of configuration changes the website is up and running. At this moment, I’m waiting for the DNS to propagate so by the time you read this, the website might not yet be available. By the way, when I said simple website I wasn’t kidding. I just got it online and told my nephew he can learn HTML if he wants to change it and I would help…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award