I Asked Amazon Q How To Make My Private Network Cost Less

Everyone keeps asking me what I think of AI so here you go

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
17 min readNov 29, 2023

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics | Code

🔒 Related Stories: Encryption | Secure Code

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

After the AWS re:Invent keynote today, I decided to see if Amazon Q can help me make my private network cost less on AWS. When I implemented VPC Endpoints and an AWS Transit Gateway my costs shot up over 2600%. Of course I am not the typical large corporation but still. For my budget it was a big increase.

Let me explain what I’ve already done

One of the things I realized almost immediately was that cross-region traffic is a serious source of cost increase but also a drag on performance. You can prevent that by restricting traffic to a single region as much as possible.

I also eliminated Transit Gateway until I really have time to focus on this and got rid of any VPC Endpoints I didn’t need. That was a large chunk of the cost.

In addition, I realized that trying to send cross-AZ traffic with an endpoint resulted in a 3 second Lambda function taking 10 minutes to execute. That…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award