So You Want a Job in Cybersecurity?

A video to help you understand some of the different types of jobs and work available in the field

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

--

One of my posts on Cybersecurity jobs and Careers.

Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | Sign up for the Email List

In a recent blog post I was pondering whether or not I should renew a cybersecurity certification. I think the experience and knowledge obtained while getting the original certificate was highly beneficial. It’s just weighing the trade-off of where I spend my time at this point that I’m pondering.

In that post I go over some of the misconceptions about working in cybersecurity and my transition from software engineering to cybersecurity. I also mentioned that you don’t necessarily need to get certified, though I would recommend some type of formal security training from people who actually work or have worked in the industry. You may require a certification if you are new to the industry or applying for certain jobs.

I also wrote about how you might start by working in your current organization, and I wrote a post earlier about alternatives organizations can consider who are facing a cybersecurity talent shortage. Maybe this blog post will help you get a job within your own company if you present it to those who are hiring:

Finally, I mentioned that I gave a presentation to a college about how to get a job in cybersecurity. This presentation covers some of the different types of jobs in cybersecurity. If you’re thinking about getting a job in cybersecurity this might help you understand the different kind of roles you might end up applying for and to consider what type of work appeals to you most.

While checking to see if my video was coming up in search results or anyone had viewed it I ran across this woman talking about cybersecurity which is another interesting take.

Follow for updates.

Teri Radichel | © 2nd Sight Lab 2022

About Teri Radichel:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
⭐️ Author
: Cybersecurity Books
⭐️ Presentations
: Presentations by Teri Radichel
⭐️ Recognition: SANS Award, AWS Security Hero, IANS Faculty
⭐️ Certifications: SANS ~ GSE 240
⭐️ Education: BA Business, Master of Software Engineering, Master of Infosec
⭐️ Company: Penetration Tests, Assessments, Phone Consulting ~ 2nd Sight Lab
Need Help With Cybersecurity, Cloud, or Application Security?
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
🔒 Request a
penetration test or security assessment
🔒 Schedule a
consulting call
🔒
Cybersecurity Speaker for Presentation
Follow for more stories like this:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

❤️ Sign Up my Medium Email List
❤️ Twitter:
@teriradichel
❤️ LinkedIn:
https://www.linkedin.com/in/teriradichel
❤️ Mastodon:
@teriradichel@infosec.exchange
❤️ Facebook:
2nd Sight Lab
❤️ YouTube:
@2ndsightlab

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award