The Unrequested Penetration Test

Vigilante security researchers or attackers may give you a penetration test whether you wanted one or not.

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
8 min readAug 6, 2020

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. The Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Penetration Testing | Privilege Escalation | Data Breaches

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve heard this story from multiple sources, so I thought it was about time to share it. Companies are getting pentests whether they hire someone to perform one or not. In fact, some of 2nd Sight Lab’s penetration test contracts are the result of security incidents like the ones I’m about to describe. Once the company had a security problem, they contacted me to assess their security or help them out with a cloud and web application penetration test. You might want to consider an assessment or penetration test before it gets to that point. I will explain why.

Do you have security issues in your cloud environment?

First, let me tell you that I love being able to help people with security. Don’t think…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award