Tips for recruiting cloud and security professionals

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
7 min readJan 14, 2019

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Most experienced technical professionals will likely tell you they are contacted by recruiters more than once a month if not once per day if they have a LinkedIn profile or ever entered their resume somewhere online. Recruiters and hiring managers have contacted me on LinkedIn, via email, and phone. Many statistics show how difficult it is to find and hire cloud and security professionals in this competitive landscape. So what can companies and recruiters do to find and recruit top talent? I have a few tips.

Let me start by saying, I love recruiters. One Friday afternoon, when I was not being treated especially well at work, I went through my contact list and sent an email to a whole bunch of recruiters I knew. I had a job by the next Monday. The market is competitive right now, but I experienced the dot-com bubble and subsequent dot-bomb back in the year 2000. Hard to come by technical professionals turned into 500 people applying for the same sys-admin job at Microsoft. Stay on good terms with your recruiters and hiring managers so you’ll be at the top of that pile.

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award