Validate A TLS Certificate Deployed With CloudFormation

ACM.246 Adding the DNS records required to complete a TLS certificate deployment with CloudFormation

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
12 min readJul 12, 2023

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Check out my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics | Code.

🔒 Related Stories: Application Security | AWS Security | DNS | TLS

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In the last post we deployed a TLS certificate CloudFormation template.

However, I sadly left you hanging. Well, CloudFormation did. I mentioned how at the end of the deployment you’re left with this for what feels like eternally…

So what’s going on? We’re going to complete that deployment now.

Honestly I don’t recall if I ever bothered to automate this before because for the amount of web sites I deploy it didn’t seem worth it. It’s kind of a hassle as you will see.

But just for you, my readers, I’m going to deploy the step to validate a TLS certificate…

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award