What are AWS’s Security Responsibilities, Anyway?

ACM.144 A deeper dive into the shared responsibility model

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
11 min readJan 29, 2023

--

Part of my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. The Code.

Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | Sign up for the Email List

In my last post I covered how to potentially prevent CreateUser privilege abuse in an AWS environment.

There are some potential pitfalls that we’ll want to consider but first, I’m going to write up a post on how to figure out how AWS secures their side of the AWS Responsibility Model. We need to understand this when evaluating threats in our AWS account and what to do about them.

The AWS Shared Responsibility Model

When you work in a cloud environment, it is your responsibility to secure certain things and the cloud provider is responsible for securing some things on their side. I wrote about that here in more detail in my post What is Cloud:

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award