What is an identity provider (IdP)?

ACM.148 Centralize user authentication for your organization

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security
Published in
8 min readFeb 2, 2023

--

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

⚙️ Part of my series on Automating Cybersecurity Metrics. The Code.

🔒 Related Stories: AWS Security | IAM | Okta

💻 Free Content on Jobs in Cybersecurity | ✉️ Sign up for the Email List

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In my last post I wrote about security product assessments.

I’m going to be taking a look at a product in my upcoming posts. But first, I need to explain what I’m trying to do, and why. Along that, I need to explain a few terms, starting with these:

  • User Directory
  • Single Sign-On (SSO)
  • Identity Provider (IdP)

I’m going to explain these terms using an example. Consider the following scenario and your options. I’m probably missing some pros and cons below because I’m thinking this through rather quickly, but I just want to explain a few key points.

--

--

Teri Radichel
Cloud Security

CEO 2nd Sight Lab | Penetration Testing & Assessments | AWS Hero | Masters of Infosec & Software Engineering | GSE 240 etc | IANS | SANS Difference Makers Award