March 2024 Meetup Report

Tim Spann
Cloudera
Published in
5 min readMar 29, 2024

--

Apache NiFi, Apache Kafka, Apache Flink, Apache Pinot, LLM, GenAI, Real-Time Analytics, Real-Time Streaming, Lots of Data, Pizza, Rain

Thanks to the 30+ people who came out in the rain, right before a holiday with a lot of US Presidents in town.

Thanks to Victor for speaking and having batteries for the microphone. Thanks to the Cloudera crew for making things run super smooth and getting everyone up the 8th floor. Thanks to Roma for bringing that good pizza super fast. We ordered nearly correctly with just one pizza left. Yes I do have to order pepperoni and meat pizzas not just plain. The crew has spoken.

As mentioned, join the Slack Group to answer questions of me and my LLM.

I amstill working on how to run a hybrid meetup by myself, next one I will put the virtual time later as in the begining there is in-person networking and eating pizza. I can’t share that one and leaving the Youtube streaming empty. Also I am going to drop the Zoom and just do Youtube. The Youtube link that is produced by Zoom I don’t know until I start, so I’ll just post the Youtube Channel as that is where it will appear. For a 5:30 PM EST meetup, we will probably start virtual at 6:15 PM.

I went on first speaking on using NiFi, Kafka and Flink SQL to build codeless GenAI pipelines with Google Gemma, HuggingFace, Mistral Mixtral, Pinecone and other models.

My Slides

Tim’s Talk

Viktor’s Talk

The Live Stream

Thanks to everyone that helped, promoted, attended live, attended virtual or liked our content.

Meetup in NYC

On March 27, 2024, we had meetup with some startups and non-profits to connect new GenAI Developers with groups needing an LLM powered chat bot. This was held at the beautiful Jersey City campus for NJIT. This meetup was run by Startup Grind Princeton, NJIT and the NJ Big Data Alliance. I was one of the mentor / moderators.

--

--

Tim Spann
Cloudera

Principal Developer Advocate, Zilliz. Milvus, Attu, Towhee, GenAI, Big Data, IoT, Deep Learning, Streaming, Machine Learning. https://www.datainmotion.dev/