Balancing Work and Life: Is It Really Possible?

Martina Fabros
Cloutchain
Published in
3 min readJun 3, 2022

Having a full-time job and a personal life…seems easy right? Wrong! Well, that depends on your definition of a personal life. If it involves binge-watching a show on Netflix while sitting on your comfortable couch munching on chips after an entire day spent staring at your screen, then you are good to go. But if you’re like me, then you’d agree that I just gave you a bad example of a work-life balance. Wondering if it’s even really possible to have that? Hear me out.

I was the type of person who believed that working longer hours means getting more things done. I was what you’d typically call a “workaholic.” In fact, I felt uneasy and anxious when I had nothing left to do for the day. If I didn’t work for at least 10 hours, it must mean that there was something I’d forgotten to do…right?

The constant pressure made me think I wasn’t doing enough. After a while, I realized I didn’t have to sacrifice everything else to get to where I want to be. I don’t have to sit at home on the weekends thinking about what more I could’ve done at work.

If there’s one thing I’m certain of, it’s that no job is easy, although some are more demanding than others. I wish I could say that it’s all about time management, but really, it’s more than that. No one is stopping you from planning your days down to the last minute, but you also have to consider your personal circumstances.

It’s also worth considering that there are jobs that allow you to work more flexibly. Take artists who work on their craft full-time for example, some get to choose when and how exactly they are going to monetize their work. So if you see people who are out even before sundown, don’t beat yourself up for not being able to do the same.

You need to make sure that you still have room for things and people that are just as important, if not more. Some days, the babysitter isn’t available and there’s no one else to watch your kids. You never know when you’ll need to take a trip for whatever reason. The point is that it definitely helps to create realistic workday plans.

Still answering emails and texts after you “signed off”? I sure hope your answer to that is no; however, if your answer is a big fat yes, I’m sorry to be the one to tell you this, but it’s time you set your boundaries.

The old me would’ve responded to my boss’s messages even if they were sent 2 hours after I signed off simply because the messages were from my boss. That was exactly me a few years back, and I was burnt out.

I was worried my boss would think badly of me if I responded the next day. Turns out, I did need time to myself and it was completely fine to disconnect.

So, work-life balance…is it really possible? It’s possible if you make it possible. While there are some things you can’t control, there are some things that you can.

For me, a great work-life balance doesn’t have to be too extreme. You don’t have to be hiking every week, attending every event there is to attend after work, or going out every single night to be able to say that you have both a thriving career and a personal life. You just have to make sure that even with all the work that you’re doing, you still have the time and energy for everything and everyone else that you value.

There’s still so much to learn, do, and see, and I hope you don’t miss out on the good things just because you chose not to let yourself enjoy them.

--

--