Charlotte de Witte at Watergate Club 2022 | Review

Sebastian
clubnight
Published in
14 min readAug 24, 2022

As part of their 20-year anniversary, the world-famous Watergate Club in Berlin invited Charlotte de Witte to play on their main floor.

Location:

Watergate is a household name in Berlin due to its long presence in the scene and the memorable location directly next to the Oberbaumbrücke by the river Spree. There are not many clubs (I am not sure if any at all), that exist for over 20 years at the same place in Berlin playing the same musical genre.

Fassade

While back in the days, when Watergate first opened its doors, the location was considered a bit on the outskirts of the city, and most other clubs were situated in Mitte — this changed completely nowadays.
The building is only a 5-minute walk away from the metro station “Schlesisches Tor” and around 10 minutes from “Warschauer Straße” which is considered the hotspot to start your night in Berlin. Directly at the border between the most hyped districts Kreuzberg and Friedrichshain in the lovely “Wrangelkiez” you can consider this an A++ location with lots of bars, spätis (night shops), restaurants and other clubs often only a few minutes of walking away.

The club ranks as the 36th best club in the world by DJMag (think of it what you want) and can host around 800 people on two dance floors and a floating outdoor deck directly on the river.

Everything you need to know about the history of the club is perfectly summarized in this video, released on its 10-year anniversary. Some things changed (like the light system on the waterfloor - not the main floor) but it gives a good impression of the general vibe:

Watergate 10-year anniversary movie

The central location, the long existence, rich history, and most of all the beautiful placement directly at the river make this a 10/10.
In my opinion, experiencing the sunrise in the morning at this club is one of the greatest things in Berlin and something everyone visiting the city should do!

Sound-system:

While a lot of clubs in Berlin have huge, prominent horn-loaded sound systems (e.g. by Funktion One) that themselves seem like a part of the club design, the speakers at Watergate seem rather unassuming.

But don’t be fooled! The club sounds very good and the system is very powerful and loud. Most of the speakers are by d&b Audiotechnik, a german brand that builds exceptional speakers used all around the world.

The main floor on top has 4 full range tops (that I don’t know the brand or the drivers used) and 8 d&b subs with 18-inch drivers that are mounted in a flying position. I think the model is the 18A. It sounds phenomenal, but also be careful with your ears and consider protection (you can get some at the door)! Even regulars from Berghain, which is famous for its sound by Funktion One, say that the Soundsystem at Watergate is very powerful.

The sound also distributes well inside the room and I never had the feeling that it was uneven or that there are major dead spots, which is especially impressive since one wall is completely out of glass pointing at the river.

The lower waterfloor hosts the same 18-inch subs, but only 4 of them, and 4 d&b line array modules in each corner. I think those are the 12S. Since the dancefloor is only around 1/3 of the lower floor, the rest of the room and the bar area are equipped with some small Turbosound impact speakers.

Back in the days, the subs were on the floor at the back of the dancefloor which sounded awesome and also was a great place to sit on — major vibrations. Nowadays they are flown like the ones upstairs, which allows an easier walkthrough to the toilets, but in my opinion, doesn’t sound as nice as before. In the sense that the bass just seems a bit less powerful.

In general, the waterfloor is more chill in regard to the volumes. It is the floor that is open the longest, so when it’s getting late the main floor closes first and all gather on the waterfloor. You can’t blast people who are at the club for sometimes 10+ hours with the highest volumes. Overall it is still a very good and clean Soundsystem, and maybe my feeling about the bass is just nostalgia.

Lights and atmosphere:

Watergate has an atmosphere of a rather typical club. A great and very high-quality one! That statement might sound strange, but most Berlin clubs offer a different, more unique experience. The places in which they operate are often larger and thus there is more to explore. Hidden corners, different rooms, and some clubs even feel a bit like festivals with lots of art objects.

Watergate feels cleaner, more structured, and less out-of-the-ordinary. Still, the design is very well thought out by ROOM DIVISION who also helped design other Berlin Clubs like Panoramabar (Berghain), Club Ost, and Fiesere Miese.

Oliver Koletzki on the Mainfloor

Let us talk about the main floor first. The design became iconic. The light fixtures swiping over your head or them being used as a strobe to flash the whole room is mind-blowing. While some say, that the idea wasn’t new and there have been other clubs who have done it first (like U60311 in Frankfurt) the way it was done at Watergate was unique and set new standards. While nowadays there are other clubs who copied it (e.g. Soda Club), here houses the original and there is nothing to change or to criticize.

Waterfloor light system (old picture ~2017)

The waterfloor was, like the Soundsystem, designed with a more minimal approach and for longer sessions. There are no flashes, no strobes. The tubes on the ceiling can be used as a strobe, but it is done very rarely during the night and there is much less going on. It kind of fits the minimal sound that is often played downstairs and I like it. But I understand that for some it might seem boring, especially in comparison to modern light shows with lasers and lots of moving heads.

Usually, the air conditioning works really well and provides fresh air, such that even smoking insight isn’t a problem. But during the night with Charlotte de Witte the main room was a sauna! I never experienced such a thing before. There was enough air, it was always possible to breathe well, but it was just so hot. I would guess it was at least 35 degrees, maybe even 40–45 degrees celsius at times. Everyone was dripping in sweat. If you moved through the room it was like gliding since everyone was wet. After some time dancing, I went outside and my shirt was drenched. It was a hot sweaty mess and it fitted the energy. I myself am fine with it, I don’t expect to look the freshest when exiting a club. I expect to look a bit scuffed up and used.

I don’t know what the reason was exactly. Maybe it is because we are facing extremely hot summer nights currently (thanks climate crisis) or maybe clubs can’t afford to run the AC at full blast anymore due to the electricity price doubling here in Germany (thanks politicians). But if you’re going to visit the club during summer, please expect such a scenario, be prepared and don’t be afraid. We’re all wet and nasty, just let it be ;)

During this night I experienced for the first time, that stickers have been put on phone cameras. Watergate always had a No Photo Policy, but never used stickers or strictly enforced it. This time was a bit different, but I would still say the club is pretty lax on this policy compared to others. On the other hand, there is usually nothing really out of the ordinary happening, s.t. that I don’t see it too critical. At least it reduces the amount of filming to an absolute bare minimum which I find quite nice. Also, I don’t see people snapping a quick picture as a memory as harmful in Watergates context.

The lighting is iconic and suited the music played. Unfortunately, the place doesn’t offer much excitement in terms of corners to explore and art to discover. But the heat was something I’ve never experienced and I see some people being overwhelmed by it, even though it created a great atmosphere during Charlotte playing: 7.5/10

Organization:

I am biased with this section. I go to Watergate for over 7 years. Previously very regularly, nowadays only a few times a year. I still have a good relation with the security and always experienced them as friendly, yet very professional and forward. Even when I saw people behaving badly in front of the door and being rejected, the security handled it well without getting physical.

If you read the google reviews there are people complaining about the door policy and being rejected. In my opinion, out of all Berlin clubs, Watergate has one of the clearest policies that aren’t too hard to follow. I will now leak it:

  1. Have a good and friendly attitude
  2. Don’t be too drunk or fucked up
  3. Better a bit more street style than too elegant (no dress shirts, polos, or high heels). Preferably no white shoes and definitely no sandals.
  4. No big groups of 5+ people
  5. No groups of more than 2 single men
  6. Know the name of some DJs that are playing and whom you’re excited to see

If you follow these steps it is next to impossible to be rejected. I like the policy since often in Berlin it is unclear and it might happen that you get rejected for no reason or that you really need to match a special outfit to a certain party, which is difficult if you go spontaneously.

During big nights that draw a lot of people, you should be prepared for some waiting times. When I arrived at 0:30 (quite early for Berlin standards) the line was already ~200m long, which equals about 1,5 hrs of waiting time. Later it grew even bigger and some people reported being in line for over 2 hours.

Still, the club didn’t feel overcrowded to me. Sure, it was packed in the main room and everyone wanted to see Charlotte de Witte play. But there was still enough room on the waterfloor and also in other parts of the club.

Next to security I’ve also experienced the other staff as friendly and open, but over the years some faces changed and a lot of new people came in. During the evening one girl at the bar gave me too little change and when I pointed it out it seemed oddly routined of her giving me back the missing money. But since it only happened once I won’t judge and it might have been a genuine mistake.

Floating outdoor deck

The place in general always seemed clean to me. There are (if I am not mistaken) 8 unisex toilettes + urinals downstairs and 7 toilettes + urinals upstairs, which is good for the size of the club. Also, there are more than enough sofas to chill, sit down, and have a drink, both inside and outside. The only bummer is, that during the winter the outdoor deck is closed.

View from the bridge

There is no awareness team, but the club isn’t very large, so it is usually only a few meters to get to the bar, the wardrobe, or the entrance. With the experience I have with the security I am confident, that they’ll handle difficult incidents well

Overall with over 20 years of being in business, the organization is on point. The club runs like a well-oiled machine and hosts great party nights which usually go 11+ hours and sometimes even 16+ hours (e.g. Sven Väth and New Kids on Acid): 10/10

Music & Residents:

Over the years Watergate had a lot of different residents which you can easiest see when checking out their Watergate Compilations here on Discogs. Some DJs became world famous and are now some of the biggest names in the game, like Solomun, Ellen Allien, Pan-Pot, and Dixon. During the era I went, I mostly consider Marco Resmann, Ruede Hagelstein, Sebo K, and Stassy & Wilck as residents.

Some of the best nights have been with those people as they know the club well: the people that go there, the vibe, when to play which track, and what gets people excited.

But after such a long time of existence, some moved away, got a family, or changed interest and only rarely play anymore. There are new residents that joined that I like a lot like Biesmans. And also Heyenah who hosts the popular Rise parties. But I have the feeling, that there is a bit of a lack of good residents that is comparable to a few years ago. Some honorable mentions, whose music I enjoy a lot and often play(ed) at Watergate are INSTANT and Gheist, I really recommend checking them out.

But nowadays it is difficult to push new residents and the club relies more on big headliners. But to give credit: they do that very well! I don’t know any other club in Berlin that could pull off booking Charlotte de Witte. If you look at the upcoming events you have big names like Oliver Huntemann, Juan Atkins, and Mano Le Tough coming up. It’s incredible to see such big names perform in a rather intimate setting and I applaud Watergate for putting in the dedication and building up years of connections!

I would love to see more consistent development with some new residents that play every week like it used to be. But otherwise, there is very little to criticize. The club delivers a great booking on most of the weekends for Techno & (Minimal) House and brings DJs who otherwise probably wouldn’t play in Berlin. This deserves a 9/10.

Pricing:

The price for the evening was 25€. Which to me sounds a bit steep since I am used to the pre-covid pricetag of 10–15€ a night. But honestly. Prices drastically rose and nowadays that is a fair price for a DJ with such a huge following (2+ Million on Instagram). Usually in Berlin, an entry for around 25€ gives you access to events that run for multiple days (like Berghain and Sisyphos), but never feature bookings this prominent.

Also, Charlotte extended her set and played long after her playtime. I left the club at around 8 o’clock and she was still playing (at that point 5 hours). I experienced that a couple of times, where DJs really enjoyed the atmosphere and just extended their set which is a nice touch.

Recently I went to Robert Johnson in Frankfurt for Partiboi69 (150K+ on Instagram) all night long which was around the same price. So the entry seemed justified.

View on the Oberbaum Bridge from the floating deck

Even though I have been far too often at this club to even count it I don’t remember the prices. I think it was 3,5€ for a Mate (Softdrink), 3€ for water, and 4€ for a beer. Everything is served in bottles. Back in the days, I remember that Watergate was always on the more expensive side being 0,5–1€ more expensive than other clubs, but this isn’t the case anymore and they are basically the same for most Berlin clubs.

Overall, I always prefer it a bit cheaper, but I didn’t have the feeling that it was overpriced nor that it was a bang for the buck. The pricing was appropriate: 7/10

Conclusion:

Watergate isn’t one of the most well-known, longest-existing clubs in Berlin for no reason. The technical stuff is flawless here. Great Soundsystem, iconic lighting, fair door policy and pricing, and good staff. The bookings are excellent and you often have the possibility to experience DJs that otherwise only very rarely play at clubs and are more oriented towards big room events and festivals. Providing all that while not being completely overcrowded the only real downside during that night was the heat in the main room — but we made the best of it!

Overall I rate the club an 8.7/10. Berlin has a lot of amazing clubs and out of them, Watergate is the safe, reasonable, always good-to-go choice. For me, it is lacking a bit of this exploration aspect and weird vibe other clubs in the city have, but that is totally a personal preference.

Especially for people that are new to techno clubs, Watergate is always my go-to recommendation since other clubs might be too extra in terms of the crowd for some, or host a door policy that inexperienced people don’t understand, getting them rejected and ruining their night. And as mentioned before: Experiencing the sunrise on the floating outdoor decks is one of the best moments you can have in Berlin and a must-do!

My state of mind:

I was out with some friends before coming to the club. We went around Neukölln and Kreuzberg, visited some bars, had good conversations, and a fun time. They just arrived after a long drive and have been too tired to join. So after getting warmed up I went alone. Still, I wasn’t drunk by any means.

As mentioned above I went to Watergate a lot. It is by far my most visited club. Mostly between 2015–2018. After that my preference changed a bit and I also wasn’t as often in Berlin anymore. Still, I always enjoy coming back.

With a club being in existence for over 20 years you can imagine, what that means for the regulars. Someone who started going as a 25-year-old student living day by day is now a 45-year-old father in a senior position at a company responsible for other employees — just as an example. Then Berlin changed. The city received a lot of hype as the party mekka and with that came an influx of tourists. And then after covid even more changed.

Even looking at Berlin 10 years ago you can see how different it is

For me, it was also one of the clubs I first visited, and writing a review brings back a lot of nostalgia and makes me realize change. It is the place where I “learned” how to party.

But to be honest, over the years it became more and more touristic. The regulars became older and don’t go out as often anymore. The crowd in general is also a bit more mature, less queer, and more straight edge than in other clubs. I don’t like the obvious “situation” at the toilettes (you know what I mean). Maybe I grew out of it a bit. From time to time I stop by to say hello and watch the sunrise sipping a beer. It is still beautiful and brings back memories of the good old days. For most people, it still is a prime destination, but for me, being very sensitive to nostalgia, it sometimes gets difficult — it reminds me of getting older.

As my last words, I want to say: thank you Watergate for holding up all the years, shaping the industry, shaping Berlin, and shaping me! I learned a lot at your place: How to dance, how to approach people, talk to them, and how to party unworried. You have been a safe place for me and I’ll be forever grateful for that. Hopefully, you will also be such a place for the new generation of party people.

--

--

Sebastian
clubnight

🚨Everything about Raves, Clubs and Techno music! From reviews, guides up to fictional stories 😈