Women laughing alone with tampons: What stock photos taught me about my period

Jen Bell
Clued In
Published in
3 min readSep 4, 2017

Stock photos are professional photographs that are bought and sold for commercial design purposes, that can be reused many times and in different contexts. They illustrate everyday places, people, and events and are well-known for perpetuating tired and sometimes bizarre stereotypes. Here’s what stock photos have to tell us about menstruation:

I always know when my period is coming, it’s that part of my calendar highlighted in pink and garnished with fresh daisies.

Also because I start to look at chocolate like this:

And my moods change so fast the photographer can hardly keep up.

I’m having so many feelings. What am I doing with my life? Why is there an untouched box of chocolates next to my bed?

Time to cheer myself up with a spot of tampon shopping.

Boy have I got plans for you, little guy.

Here we go. I’m blossoming, flowering even.

Wait a minute, now my blooming uterus seems to be self-destructing.

At least I’m not alone. Synced outfits? Easy. Synced periods? A bit more difficult.

All I can do is curl up in the fetal position in white underwear in my completely white bed. Won’t somebody bring me a blanket?

Or a tiny pink hot water bottle? Ahhh, that’s better.

And then the painkillers finally kick in. Now I can get on with my to-do list. Living my best life: check.

Wait, what? I don’t even own any white clothes.

Does your period look like this? Post a pic of you on your period on Instagram with the tag #justsayperiod and mention or tag @clue for the chance to win a fabulous limited edition euphemism tote bag. We’ll feature our favorite images on the Clue blog.

Download Clue to get to know your unique cycle.

All images were sourced from iStock.

--

--