#CollectiveMeets…Venus Libido

#CollectiveFam Venus Libido (April Shergold) is a female illustrator based in the South of England. She uses her work as a raw representation that highlights otherwise hushed topics, such as mental health, misogyny, and the constant battle women to find equal rights. Through a mixture of quirky illustrations and thought provoking podcasts, she’s challenging us all to open up the discussion and breakdown the taboos surrounding body image, female pleasure and mental health.

CMDN Collective
CMDN Collective
5 min readSep 19, 2019

--

How and why was Venus Libido born?

Venus Libido was born after spending several years experiencing self doubt, mental health related issues and exploring my position in this world as a woman. Venus Libido started as a story of survival and sharing with others a journey towards navigating the things she found stood in her way. Today I continue to tell my story through Venus Libido helping to spread awareness and bring light to issues we all face.

Why do you think topics such as mental health, self-love etc. are so heavily overlooked?

For years I overlooked these things myself. I hid my depression, I didn’t talk about my alcohol addiction and I didn’t speak up when someone treated me differently because I was a woman. This was all out of fear of being judged or not believed and so I kept quite for far to long. These topics are hard to approach and I feel the main issue we all face when it comes to these problems is having a safe space to talk about them. A place of not only understanding but educated advice and safe solutions surrounding that also. Not everyone has access to the answers or the confidence to know how to start the conversation and so I feel that people stay quite out of fear or uncertainty. This really does need to change and I believe slowly it will if we continue to talk openly about it.

What do you think brands and those with a significant following could be doing better to normalise the stigma around these topics?

I think if you are going to support something then you really do need to believe in it. I see so many big brands jumping on the latest talking points and you do have to question their authenticity. I think to really support something you need to do more than just talk about it, donate money, give the people really affected the platform to speak. Most importantly listen to what other people have to say especially those it affects. Create real change and continue to stand by the thing you support, don’t just post about it then close the door on it because these issues last longer than just a campaign or Instagram post.

Why do you think the fight for women’s equal rights is still a discussion having to be had?

Because equality is still a long way a way. There are still steps to be made and issues to address. For example woman are still not paid equally to men in some industries, sexual harassment and assault is still not taken seriously in some work places. Women in other countries face violence and abuse and are not protected. Trans women are being killed everyday and black African women have a mortality rate four times higher than White women in the UK. The discussion still needs to be had because the discussion isn’t over. There is still work to be done and it take’s people shouting about it for women to be heard and change to be made.

In your podcast ‘The Loneliness Collaboration’ you speak on issues surrounding Men’s Mental health, Alcohol, Addiction etc. why is it so important to bring awareness to these topics?

It is important to bring awareness to these issues because they keep getting overlooked and people are losing their lives because we are being silent. Suicide is the biggest killer of men under 45. 41% of men who contemplated suicide felt they couldn’t talk about their feelings. These statistics are far to high and the more we talk about it the more people will listen and then the more lives we can save. Everyone’s mental health should be acknowledged and everyone should feel safe to ask for help. The one thing that brings me the greatest joy in life is knowing that I’ve helped someone feel not so alone and sometimes potentially saved their life. Talking saves lives and sharing knowledge can make real change.

How are these topics shown in your illustrations?

All of my illustrations are a depiction of my own life or struggle’s woman face on a day to day basis. A lot of them are of women in their bedrooms telling stories of the things we do when no one is watching. They are all things we are to embarrassed to share or talk about put into one simple image. But mostly they are drawings to make others not feel so alone with their own dark tendencies. Whether it be mental health, body confidence, alcohol addiction, equality or body hair I’m not afraid to draw about it. Sharing my experiences through my art so that others don’t feel alone is something I will always continue to do.

You were recently recognised in a campaign with bumble, celebrating 50 influential creative people in London! In your opinion, what do you think truly makes someone influential?

I think what truly makes someone influential is someone who stands up for others, someone who impacts others to create positive change and someone who continues to listen, learn and share their experiences in a positive way. I follow people because they believe in equality for all and want to implement change for a better world for everyone. But mostly importantly I think it’s important to know that we are all influential in some way or another and you are able to create change no matter who you are.

What’s next for Venus Libido?

I have recently created a chat show called ‘Private Parts’ which is a fun, educational and inclusive show about sex, dating and relationships. I’m working on a season 2 currently and looking for the right people to partner up with on this. I also have a few other things in the pipe line but I cant talk about them yet mainly because I don’t want to jinx them.

--

--