Through the AiCE Looking Glass: Freshman Experiences: Meet Ujean

Nutsupa Sukprasith
CMKL University
Published in
4 min readJul 1, 2024

Q: Can you provide some background about yourself, including your academic and extracurricular achievements before entering CMKL University?

Certainly! I studied at the Newton Sixth Form School, specifically the AI and Technology Track. I initially aimed for a career in the medical field, so I had little to no knowledge or technical skills when I joined them. Nevertheless, my time at Newton was filled with academic support and events, such as participating in TEDxYouth@NewtonSixthForm and co-founding GreenBird Bangkok, Thailand’s first volunteer group in Japan’s GreenBird Project franchise.

Q: What inspired you to pursue Artificial Intelligence & Computer Engineering?

Ironically, it started with skepticism towards AI. My exposure to the subject was mostly negative, as people feared AI and its abilities. This sparked my curiosity in the field, and I started to research and join camps on robotics, computer science, etc. The skepticism slowly turned into fascination with how everything works. The impressive projects I saw at these camps further fueled my interest in pursuing this field.

Q: How did your previous experiences contribute to your decision to enroll in the AI & Computer Engineering program?

One of the main reasons I chose CMKL is its emphasis on hands-on projects right from the first term, unlike other universities where such opportunities often begin much later.

However, 42Bangkok was the camp to cement my decision to enroll in the AICE program. It is a free, innovative coding school that normally hosts a 4-week intensive bootcamp focusing on C programming. It was the first time I truly understood what I was doing at the camp, and I had fun coding through self and peer-to-peer learning. The experience gave me an insight into the major’s fundamentals and confirmed my interest in the field. I was so engrossed in the projects that time seemed to fly by.

Q: What factors influenced your decision to choose CMKL University for your higher education?

CMKL’s collaboration between Carnegie Mellon and KMITL caught my attention. However, the AiCE curriculum and learning environment were my primary considerations. I appreciate how students are given the opportunity to work on projects under the guidance of professors or advisors from the start. The university offers a work-like atmosphere that prepares students for a professional environment. Furthermore, my experience at the AiCE Warp Camp gave me insight into the warm and welcoming environment. Meeting the professors and learning about their projects left a strong impression on me. If I were to study there, I knew I would be in good hands.

Q: How has your experience been within the AI & Computer Engineering program at CMKL University?

The emphasis on R&D projects at CMKL has been particularly fulfilling for me. Despite the occasional miscommunication regarding events, I have felt warmly welcomed here.

It has been wonderfully eye-opening, to say the least. The combination of a project-driven curriculum and the community here has expanded my horizons greatly. Not only did I work on my R&D project as a freshman, but our very own Professor, Dr. H. Miri, also gave me the opportunity to participate in his research project. HoloGrad is a holographic platform for patient education that allowed me to work with virtual and mixed reality development for the first time with headsets like Meta Quest Pro and the Hololens.

There is a sense of family here, with everyone working together and supporting each other, be it the staff, professors, or students themselves.

Q: Since entering CMKL University, have there been any specific achievements or projects related to AI or computer engineering that you are proud of?

One project I’m especially proud of is “The Palm Killer,” an application my teammate and I developed to accurately assess the ripeness of palm fruits using computer vision technology. This project aims to reduce time, energy, and financial losses for farmers. This is our freshman research and development project. Other than this, there’s also HoloGrad that I’ve mentioned above.

Q: How has your perspective or skill set evolved after joining CMKL University?

Thanks to all the projects, my problem-solving and presentation skills have definitely improved. I was able to gain first-hand experience in a similar work environment and improve my skills and confidence. I think the most valuable thing I got here was a growth mindset. Facing numerous challenges has taught me discipline, resilience, and the comfort of not knowing everything. You learn how to get through even if you start from scratch. Just start.

Q: As you progress through your AI & Computer Engineering program, what are your aspirations for the future?

Moving forward, I am eager to explore different pillars of the program. I’ve focused on human-centered design so far, particularly immersive environments, and would like to broaden my skill set before choosing which to specialize in. Ultimately, I aim to pursue a master’s degree abroad, building on the foundation I’ve received here.

Q: If you were to recommend CMKL University and the AI & Computer Engineering program to prospective students, what would you highlight?

I would highlight:

Research & Development Project

The APEX supercomputer

Work-like Environment and Opportunities

The warm and supportive community

--

--