Project 2: Making the abstract concrete

Genetic Engineering

Josh LeFevre
CMU Design School Master’s portfolio
10 min readSep 27, 2018

--

It’s safe to assume that all of us have encountered information that was difficult to grasp science and math concepts that use lots of abstract symbols; topics that are invisible or span a great deal of time or space; objects that are too large, small, or fast to see well; ideas that involve lots of jargon, etc. Although the very nature of information can make it challenging to grasp, the form that is used to communicate the content can aid or hinder understanding. Your task is to address the challenge of making something abstract concrete.

9/27/18 — Starting

Genetic engineering

I drew the card to explain genetic engineering, what it is, how it works, and why this is important.

Class reflection

Today we began class be drawing literall and abstract representation of various terms such as a cat, sluggishly, vibrant, and quiet. For me, each stage became increasingly difficult as I realized that the concepts would need to be drawn abstreactly to more clewarly convey the idea to others who had no relation to what the terms and drawings could be.

Discussion of images and image types around the word sluggish

Through the activity of pinning up our drawings on the board, and analyzing similarities, I realized that to really make our ideas clear asking those who have no idea what we are trying to communicate clarifies our thoughts and ideas.

As I began considering how I could link these principles to telling the story of genetic engineering, Stacie started a new activity specifically to prompt application of communication design and design rhetoric into our personal stories.

Stacie began by reading us a long-form article explaining how influenza works. The reading and terminology became difficult to understand quite quickly. While she was reading I began writing down the relationship between various points in the description and possible ways to visually communicate the influenza process in a simple way. I focused on these methods of story telling:

  • Stocks & flows: as the transfer of components between systems (internal and eternal)
  • Gradient
  • Comparison
  • Timeline
How influenza works, a brief illustration without words

With these ideas in mind, and without using words, I drew this short four minute illustration (to the left) in order to, demonstrate the concept of how influenza works.

After sharing this illustration with those I my table, I saw how my illustrations were quite informative but fell flat at explaining the nuanced scientific processes involved.

Others on my table did a great job explaining the intricacies of the scientific process. However, we found that most of us used this story board or story narrative to describe the process (as seen below).

After evaluating the pros and cons of each method for telling the story, we trimmed down our ideas to what we thought was the best and began drawing our final influenza illustrated descriptor.

How Influenza works diagram/story from my table mates
Final influenza narrative sketch

Story and visual principles

Above, are the final visuals from other groups in our class. After walking through each groups’ illustrations, I had some key take aways:

  • Simple changes between “frames” create the most clear description of change and development
  • Bold colors drawyou into the most important parts
  • Less color is best
  • Digitally you can use time and frames to conceal or emphasize ideas of growth and progression
  • Leading the user between logical start and end points clarifies ideas
  • Touching even briefly on context (such as the lungs we drew) add value to frame one’s comprehension and retention of knowledge imparted.

10/02/18 — Initial story ideas

Quick explanation napkin sketch

Framework

During my initial exploration of the topic, I wanted to take a neutral stance in order to compare available research. This helped me define my key actors: animals, genetic engineer, CRISPR (enzyme), animal, food, medicine.

Class feedback

Today, I shared my story concept with two class mates. Even though, I understand and have experience with this topic, externalizing it to novices become more difficult that I initially thought. Also, taking time to think about the future and long-term vision of what

  • Show genetic engineering by time
  • Talk more specifically about how one actually genetically engineers an organism
  • Perhaps include discussing the actual enzymes
  • Genetic engineering as the survival of the fittest among genes
  • I need to explore more relationships
  • Focus on the big debate — food
  • Explain the three plus components of genetic engineering
  • Are there ways to create a non-sequitter relationship
  • Where is motion most ueful

Relationships to explore

  • How genetic engineering has evolved (timeline)
  • Genetic engineering, what it is(blobs & metaphors)
  • Cells, enzymes, and DNA/rNA (levels of scale)
  • Genetic engineering process (process & vignettes through time)
  • Types of genetic engineering applications–medicine, food, humans (quantities)
  • How GMOs are digested by insects vs humans (stocks and flows)
  • Improve genome (comparison)
  • Future of genetic engineering and designer babies (gradient)

Story transitions

  1. Moment to moment: blink of an eye
  2. Action to action: two difference postions of the head
  3. Subject to subject: Satellite to earth
  4. Scene to scene: same story for different perspective, time, context, and cause-effect
  5. Aspect to aspect: logical relationship between “objects”
  6. Non-sequitter: See relationships where they didn’t exist before

Channels to tell my story

  1. Visuals: graphics
  2. Audio: music, voice over, sound effects
  3. Motion: transitions

Many insights come by writing story boards in all three channels synchronously. This becomes the visual guide on how to develop one’s ideas and stories. Part of this is to find visuals that will help create a sense of what I want to see (images, color, audio, tone, etc).

10/04/18 — First Story board

Genetically altered zebra fish with a gene for bioluminesece

Inspirations

In my quest to explain something that I have done many times during my undergraduate career, I began looking for simplified or abstracted images. As well as, simplified genetic engineering diagrams.

Genetic engineering visuals
Simplified genetic engineering charts. i chose these to stay above the deep biochemistry explanations

What I found after reading hosts of articles and looking at diagrams galore is that the principles of genetic engineering is similar to the process of removing one puzzle piece from puzzle A adn finding a spot for it to fit in puzzle B.

With this knowledge, and the list of comparisons I listed in my last post, I created a simple storyboard.

Initial storyboard

After creating the storyboard, based on key advancements and parts of the genetic engineering process that 1) I spend most of the story trying to create context around what I am trying to say; 2) My storyboard isn’t really a storyboard, it is a few sketches of key points I want to make.

As I take the next step, I think I’ll need to write out a basic script for each step or scene since I am better at thinking through words than making perfect sketches.

Key class takeaways

  • Keep the visuals consistent between frames
  • Bookend ideas and visuals, don’t jump around too much
  • Be deliberate in size and placement of images
  • You don’t have to fill the entire space

10/08–10/13 — Story update

The story

Up until this point I have been stuggling to find the right balance between sharing the detail on how genetic engineering works. Having worked in a lab that did genetic engineering I find myself slipping into way to much detail or just discussing the over generalized highlight reel.

This is in part because I have a tendency to talk more about the larger discussion around genetic engineering and its impact on us.

For this discussion, I’ve found it easier to focus on writing out a clear script first in order to inform my visuals.

Inspiration explainer videos

Execution ideas

There have been lots of animations done of how CRISPR or about what genetic engineering is. Since genetic engineering requires a protein-enzyme combination, such as CRISPR, to splice DNA and add new genes I feel that I can add value by making a stronger connection between how genetic engineering works and how CRISPR is just one part.

So, I am persuaded to make that explantion through making a video using

  • Physical models
  • Individual acting
  • Handwritting
  • or very simple animation

Right now, I am leaning more toward physical models.

10/15–10/20 — Reimagining how to tell the story

The past week, I’ve been working hard on developing a script to help other be able to describe how genetic engineering works. What I’ve found, as I work through this process is three things:

  1. I have an expert blind spot that pushes my descriptions either too deep and scientific OR too general but filled with science terms that go over the heads of those listening. This realization is that sometimes being an expert can feel like a handicap because you understand the nuance and often find it difficult to nail down the key factors of importance.
  2. Focusing on just the narrative, which is one of my goals for this project, without exploring visuals and making things has put me in a vicious cycle of slef-defeating mental talk.
  3. Most of the explanations I’ve seen describing genetic engineering are super scientific or animated to a fault that many important pieces get lost in the explanation. What I hope to do is strike a balance by using real objects that are filmed to tell the story of genetic engineering.

So, I’ve taken a break from script writing and began storyboarding what a live action/filmed, story could look like.

Genetic Engineering storyboard

In this visualization I am looking to film straight down onto a table using a circle or plate as the consistant size throughout. In this way, I can tie genetic engineering to current discussion around food, medicine, and gene therapy.

As I storyboarded, I found that the over complicated script I wrote began to fall into place much more simply. This weekend I plan to continue down this path and create a test video for next Tuesday.

As inspiration for how to film this story I have been looking at the following videos using top down or fractured video animation/film.

10/22–10/26 — Finding Visual voice

Rapid prototype

The past few days I spent working on my script to make it clear, concise and simple. Then, I planned out how I could film and present my ideas. So, after some deliberation, I filmed several quick and dirty prototype videos on my phone to get a sense as to whether What I am thinking for a tabletop demonstration would even work.

I chose this method to challenge me to develop a new skill in filmin and improve my storytelling abilities.

Below is that video’s rough cut from my phone higlighting the script and a few scenes in the story.

Rough Cut_2: Here, I was testing the top down filming and some visuals (no video sections are normal)

Findings

This process was much more challenging than I thought. I found that I needed more objects than initially planned to share this story. I also realized that there may be a reason why most videos on genetic engineering only use super simplified animations. However, seeing the examples in real life make the idea pop and click with most people.

Critique

On Oct 22, I shared this video with my class peers and professors to get feedback on transitions, clarity of concepts, and script comprehension. From that exchange, the following highlights from the critique are outlined:

  • Simple, specific examples with the apples make the idea pop and feel concrete
  • What else could be used instead of a clock to show the beginning of time
  • The use of household items makes the concepts feel approachable
  • Transitions are slick and clearly signal progression/change
  • The idea of how CRISPR works seems confusing and the visuals don’t match the script
  • Make the DNA part more active and less static

Many of these points I have considered but upone further conversation, gained ideas on how to make this work and set up the scene. So here is a short list of actions to take:

  • Add DNA to the nucleus
  • Laser cut more genetic pieces to show what is happening
  • Use correct lighting and filming devices

Challenges

Mine

  • Expert blindspot
  • New medium and filming style
  • Abstract physical from to demonstrate complex biology systsm

Class

  • What storytelling devices are we using? –for me: metaphor, comparison, stocks and flows
  • We are getting lost in the details and missing the big concept
  • How to correctly use pauses
  • Knowing when color is helpful vs unhelpful
  • Making sure that every movement is meaningful

Focus + Reflection

I will feel successful with this project if:

I create a clear compelling story with visuals that aid but don’t distract from the content. I am not looking for a design prize,knock it out of the park finish, but a clear and interesting way at telling the story of genetic engineering.

Revisiting the story

After the class critique, I spent time rethinking the visuals and scenes that I would need to clarify and unify my story.

So, I began making more pieces and setting up my filming space.

Setting up my first real top down video project and creating the genetic code example.

10/29–10/31 — Final video and presnetation

--

--

Josh LeFevre
CMU Design School Master’s portfolio

I am human who grew up loving science who realized that the bloom of design brings life and context to humanity while making science approachable.