Getting People Involved

Gordon Fong
Co-hosted by Datacenta
2 min readMay 12, 2024
On stage at Poole Lighthouse theatre

Connection, cooperation, co-action and co-creation are all becoming important every day. It’s good to do more together.

Initially, we’re often fixated on amassing as many followers as possible, believing it’s a measure of success. Having thousands of followers looks much more impressive than a few hundred. Then you start going to business seminars and they tell you about niching down and that it’s better to have 100 fans, than thousands of followers that do nothing for you.

In my own endeavours, there is a part of me that would love for them to take off exponentially like some chain reaction, because they really are something that could be replicated around the UK. Yet, I’ve come to realise that it’s easier to change your neighbourhood, or the circles you are directly involved in.

Getting involved is so important. I’ve watched a series on Netflix called “Live to 100: Secrets of the Blue Zones” and some of the key reasons why those blue zones, areas of the world where people live exceptionally long lives, thrives on purposeful living and community engagement. My approach to this in my personal and business life has become easier, in the sense I get involved, I share, and I promote others.

It’s official now, our business has changed name to X-Net and will become a much larger business and dealing with large government contracts means we must have a documented commitment to sustainability and social value that is created. It’s a new role I’m ready to embrace.

It’s easy to think of it as a bureaucratic chore but I reflected on what we have been doing, how we have been hiring, the support we give others, joining in regional messaging, and the local impact in terms of job creation and using local services all aligns. Now, it’s about documenting our commitment.

Yes, it demands effort, but I have seen that people appreciate the effort, recognise the why, and then they can buy into it and support. Rallying behind shared goals does work.

At this year’s YATM Creator Day (25th April) I’m championing the power of collective action. I am continuing the theme of “collective action” that worked so beautifully last year, that birthed the #inPoole movement, celebrating the town. I now see businesses and organisations, who weren’t at the event consistently, using it now.

We will come together, to do something positive, for a moment in time.

If we put in the effort, we can all make an impact and enhance the reputation for what we want to achieve, not just us, but others as well.

--

--

Gordon Fong
Co-hosted by Datacenta

Lives in Southbourne, business locations in Bournemouth and Winfrith. Web, hosting and consultancy.