Crypto Q&A: Interview with Splinterland Founder Matt Rosen

Drew Mailen
Co.Invent
Published in
3 min readSep 9, 2019

--

Splinterlands (formerly Steem Monsters) is the #1 DAPP game in the world in addition to being the top DAPP on the STEEM blockchain. The game recently totaled over $1M worth of player transactions with roughly 3,000 gamers playing each day.

In an exclusive interview, we sat down with the game’s founder, Matt Rosen, who is currently living his life-long dream as a video game designer. Let’s take a look at what he had to say.

Question: What first interested you in creating video games? Was there a moment in your life where you were like, yeah, I know I want to do this for a living?

Rosen: I’ve wanted to create my own video games since I was a young child. I started to learn programming when I was around 9 or 10 specifically to make my own games, so it’s something I’ve known that I wanted to do nearly my whole life.

Question: How much has community propelled this game forward?

Rosen: Community is extremely important, especially since we started this project with no funding. Almost everyone who is now part of our team came from the community and originally volunteered to help out just because they liked the product and wanted to be involved. No one wants to play a game that no one else plays, so having a strong community really drives the success…

--

--