MY ACT OF REBELLION: HILDA WIELAND

Lana Jelenjev
Co.LAB Magazine
Published in
3 min readMay 12, 2018

“How did you become an Impact-Driven entrepreneur?”

That’s the question Lana asked me, and so I sat down and I realized- it’s something I inherited from my dad! He used to sell second hand clothes and my introduction to entrepreneurship was through him.

When I was in my teen years all I wanted to do was sports. That is why I became a personal trainer and aerobics teacher. I also started working at bars and that was where I met my ex partner. We worked together in the bars while I was still teaching.

We had 2 beautiful daughters and I was still working in his bars. He was busy buying several bars while I always felt the need to do something for my own.

This started me to entrepreneurship- I got into buying and selling secondhand furniture. The nightlife, my lifestyle and me not listening to all my senses that our relationship was no longer a healthy one took its toll. I started having health problems and as a young woman with 2 small children I ended up in and out of the hospital for about 7 years .

I became a heart patient, my arteries kept on slipping and so they had to place several stents in them. We moved from the centre of the city to Ijburg, broke up and that was when I started to do yoga. It give me back my life and for the first time in such a long period, I could breath again! I didn’t feel restricted while I was moving.

So I started to do my first teacher training and there I found my heart jumping with joy. I loved it. I still do!

Then I trained on how to be a mindfulness coach. Being in the here in now was also something I needed to explore. Saying goodbye to my life as it was and loosing a lot of people from the life I used to live was not easy, but I am so thankful for all those lessons in life.

Now I am studying to be a yoga therapist , almost finished the 7 modules by Svastha yoga, and I feel very privileged to study with A.G and Indra Mohan. They focus on yogic mindfulness and I love the way they teach. Simple, pure and oh so precious.

I met some great inspiring people along my way and gained a lot of knowledge over the years which I am willing to share with all my heart. For me, this journey has been a life saver and I can truly be grateful for all the beautiful things life has to offer!

P.S. Check out Hilda’s work at Navaflow and at CUNA

--

--

Lana Jelenjev
Co.LAB Magazine

Author of The 90 Day Action Planner, Community Builder: Designing Communities for Change. Community Alchemist and Learning Experience Designer.