I don’t know…Graduation? My heart?

ECB
Coach’s Carrots
Published in
3 min readOct 5, 2018

I am going to start this blogpost like many of us do when asked “What do you want to do after you finish school?”

I don’t know. I don’t know where I am going, exactly, but I think in the end it’’ll make sense. Hmm, sounds familiar.. oh wait.

I try to stray away from negative phrases or sayings but I actually don’t entirely think this saying is particularly negative. Importance, or slight significance, lies in what comes after though.

Imagine. You’re at a store and you ask the salesperson where something is. They reply “I don’t know.” Now they have one of two options. 1. Walk away. Or 2. “Let me try and find out”/“Let me look into it.” See, option #2, is not a definite answer but it shows a sense of significance. It’s not a for sure thing that you will find what you are looking for but its good to know you have the option.

Disclaimer: I do not want to say “importance” because it places too much meaning on what comes after “I don’t know,” just like “what comes after school.” This is not to say that what comes after is not important but all meaning does not solely rely on it either.

“You don’t have a plan [and] everyone loses their minds”

Not knowing is not the “culprit” of the situation. The significance lies in if you are trying. Are you trying to open up your options?

A lot does rely on the makeup of your support system though. There are parents that tell their children exactly what they are doing and when. There are others who give the option to their children but want to know what their child’s choice is right away. Some people don’t even have that. I think a lot of college students feel lost. I think that is really okay, but only if they keep their dreams alive so that they can think of a future. It’s the “let me look into it” of growing up.

Graduation shouldn’t be this deadline. To end college or start a career. Wouldn’t it be great to just enjoy that word, with no connotation. Like “ugh can’t wait to just get out of here” or like “omg, I’m so scared, I have no idea what I’m doing with my life…!” or “I never want to leave, this is the best thing ever!” (Just things I hear, not necessarily my personal opinion).

Breakdown Summary:

  1. Its is okay to not know what you want to do with your life.
  2. Ask yourself “are you actually thinking and trying to change that?”
  3. Enjoy this time of your life.
  4. A support system helps, but you really only need your own self-awareness, confidence, and assurance.
  5. Graduating is a success. It is not a deadline.
  6. Listen to your heart.
  7. In the end, it’ll all work out!

Maybe Roxette isn’t wrong… “Listen to your heart.”

My blog hopefully continues to point out positive sayings and promote them, and demote negative phrases from our language, or at least raise awareness.

--

--