Serendipity, Synchronicity, and my dogs.

ECB
Coach’s Carrots
Published in
6 min readSep 21, 2018

Serendipity: the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way. Synchronicity does not necessarily have to be a “happy” occurrence.

The perfect and most simple example is the movie… Serendipity.

To give you a little insight, and perhaps entice you to watch this movie, for whatever reason (maybe to endure the same semi-enthused experience I did), here’s the synopsis; two people meet at a store during Christmas time and immediately are fated/destined for each other. However, both of them are in relationships! So Sara (Kate Beckinsale) finds a book, writes her information down, and hides the book. If it is meant to be, Jonathan (Cusack) will find the book and find his girl. It is up to destiny/fate/serendipity to bring these two back together.

Even though I adore John Cusack, Christmas time, and the idea of serendipity interplaying, it is a “B” movie for sure.

My serendipitous moments are a bit (okay a lot… okay, maybe even non-existent… details) less romantic and grand, but these little occurrences do mean the most to me and are full of love.

Frenk-afurd and Stormi-girl

For the past year, I had been pleading with my family to adopt a dog. This would make number three, since we already had a goofy Labradane, Frenky, and a sweet purebred German Shepherd, Storm (who we adopted a year and a half earlier at Pasadena Humane).

Stormi stealing a kiss

I thought that we could offer a life of luxury to another being, like we do with these two! A poor creature who spends its days in a cell, not by its own account, could be saved. I found multiple dogs that seemed fit to live in our household but something always disrupted my plan, much to my father’s peace. Unfortunately, in the midst of all this, Frenky got cancer. After his surgery, in February, he was given a 50% chance that the cancer would come back within the year, and so it did.

Frenky passed away on August 7th, 6 months to the date that he had his surgery. Although Frenk was like a son to me, the first dog to ever fully depend on me and teach me what unconditional love is, I felt at peace knowing that my family and I provided him with a life of paradise and that we tried everything we could.

He had a real nack for napping!

With Storm all alone in the house, I knew this was the opportunity to finally save another dogs life. This time my mom became my partner-in-crime. My grandmother who was visiting at the time became our double agent and began to plant seeds of acceptance in my father’s mind. Coincidentally, #CleartheShelters was on August 18th, fees would only be $20 (usually around $130, which is worth it because all proceeds go to the shelters to provide for the animals there, and also do not cost $1000 from breeders)! The perfect moment for the perfect crime. I was determined to go to a shelter and bring home a dog, whether my dad liked it or not! (Disclosure: my father loves dogs and we knew his “no’s” were just a front). That day my mother and I, with my grandmother’s best wishes, headed off to the shelter.

When we arrived, many of the dogs had already been adopted, thankfully! But this was kind of infringing on my “bring-home-a-dog-no-matter-what” vibe. It was hot, loud, hectic, and most of all discouraging. My mother had given up. I came to the adoption table with multitudes of animal IDs and with each one I received an “already adopted” both heartwarming and heartbreaking words (mostly heartwarming because this meant most dogs were getting a home!). I was still determined.

I told my mom “I’m going to look one more time” and she responded with a tired shrug, and so I went on. I was drawn to one part of shelter and a specific kennel and immediately saw who would later be known as Bonn.

When interacting with animals there is sometimes an immediate connection, and that is exactly what this was. Love at first sight. This poor little skinny soul picked his bones up and walked to the fenced door of the kennel, the poor guy was clearly also abused. I squeezed my hand into the tiny diamond shaped opening to pet him and he lovingly responded with a nuzzle and eventually plopped his big head into my hand (as much as I could fit through the fence). I knew that this was the dog to go home with me, I knew that he needed me and that I needed him. I hurriedly shuffled through what was the leftover crowd and b-lined it straight toward the adoption table. I could not lose this dog. I handed them the ID and seconds later I heard the words “He’s yours.” Honestly it was a bit too fast (like they didn’t want me to ask any questions). Usually they interview you, something I was prepared for, but no questions asked! I guess I can be thankful for that though because it was less of an obstacle to be with him. Next thing I knew, the leash to my new dog, my new found love, was in my hands.

(We’ll skip the part where my dad found out that we brought home this dog without his approval and he stormed out of the house and didn’t talk to my mom and me… for a good few hours. Grandma, in the meantime, was the mediator.)

Bonn-boy and Stormi-girl (i really call them these names, I am not just defining their genders!)

Bonn is exactly what I needed at the exact perfect time in the exact perfect way. Storm is very intelligent, proper, but most importantly independent, so I respect her wishes to not be hugged too much (I definitely push the limits though). Frenky was a lover boy. He would climb into bed and cuddle the whole night through. He loved big bear hugs and kisses, and that was something I missed. Getting Bonn was not only for him but something for me. I jokingly would tell my parents “I need to buy my friends” but I really did need someone who would just be there for me, no conditions, no time schedule, just pure enjoyment of being together. Bonn is all that and more.

He is my serendipitous moment.

Where I adopted Storm. It is possible to find a purebred in the pound!

You can even find puppies!

Animals of all sorts just waiting to go home!

--

--