The Hidden Gem of Greece: Nafplio

Some consider it the “Italy” of Greece.

Ben Rich
Coach’s Carrots
3 min readNov 16, 2018

--

I mean, look at this place.

When people from the US think of Greece, the first image that comes into their mind is probably Santorini, Mykonos, and the colors blue and white. However, there is so much more to Greece than just the islands and the color blue. Many historic towns and ports have shaped the way Greece, and Athens in particular, have come to be what they are today.

The city of Nafplio was the first capital of the modern Greek state. Named after Nafplios, son of Poseidon, and home of Palamidis, their local hero of the Trojan war and supposedly the inventor of weights and measures, lighthouses, the first Greek alphabet and the father of the Sophists. The small city state made the mistake of allying with Sparta in the second Messenian War and was destroyed by Damokratis, the king of Argos.

Because of the strength of the fort that sits above the bay, the town of Nafplio became an important strategic and commercial center to the Byzantines from around the Sixth century AD. In 1203, Leon Sgouros, ruler of the city, conquered Argos and Corinth, and Larissa to the north, though it failed to successfully conquer Athens after a siege in 1204.

After the capital moves to Athens in 1834, the city of Nafplio becomes of less importance. But it still continues to attract visitors to this very day because its history is virtually the history of modern Greece and because every occupying power has left its mark. The city of Nafplio is like a living museum, and is one of the most lively cities in Greece. It is commonly mistaken for Italy and has lots of neoclassical influence.

The other day, as I was scrolling through my Instagram stories, I see an ad for a study abroad/internship experience. The ad features a video of a beautiful Mediterranean seaside town, and I immediately recognize it as Nafplio. However, as the video continues on, it is an advertisement for an experience in Italy, not Greece. I thought: how dare they do Nafplio like that.

Our favorite Gelateria. My friends and I went twice a day for 3 days.

Anyways, Nafplio was one of my favorite places to visit in Greece. I have very fond memories of walking the tight, historic streets with tons of neoclassical buildings and gelato stores. The locals there have a pride for the city unlike any other place I’ve been. We were able to take a tour of the castle that sits on a cliff in Nafplio, and make the trek of 1,000 steps down to the town. My legs were burning but I got so many great photos.

How does this topic contribute to my exploration of Athens as a livable city? As a part of my definition, I mention the idea of attractions. These can definitely be outside of Athens, as Nafplio was just a bus ride away. Visiting this place contributed much to my thoughts and ideas of Athens; I made some great memories here. In my definition, I also mention the idea of community. The people of Nafplio have such a tight-knit community and many of the locals have family or friends in Athens. This further connects Athens with many of the cities throughout the countryside. In my next blog, I will discuss the architecture of the Acropolis and how it stands as a beacon of hope for all the people of Greece. Attractions, history, and community ties the people of Greece together.

--

--

Ben Rich
Coach’s Carrots

Student at the University of Southern California.