Why does Gin & Tonic Taste so good? Science explains.

The Aspiring Mixologist
Cocktails in Paradise
1 min readMay 30, 2016

Quartz has an interesting article on why Gin & Tonic taste so good together.

Short answer: chemistry. The chemistry is beyond me but my son explains it as hydrophobic vs hydrophilic, or, as my wife says, “jumping ions”. Which come to think of it would be a good name for a cocktail!

They suggest some other pairings based on similar chemical situations: oysters and white wine, meat and chocolate (Molé anyone?). And the two interesting ones to me, pineapple and blue cheese, and strawberry and coriander. Those last two might work in a cocktail…..

--

--

The Aspiring Mixologist
Cocktails in Paradise

Mark’s ruminations on cocktails. You can also find me over at The Hawaii Project.