100 days of fun facts

Consuelo Valdes
CocoMusings
Published in
2 min readAug 1, 2018

As many other creatives have done, I took on a 100 days challenge. I illustrated over 100 fun facts that I found worth sharing with those around me. Below are all the facts illustrated and some reflections about the experience.

How I did it

I applied a dry erase decal to the back of my work computer. Every day when I got into work I spent a maximum of ten minutes looking up interesting facts, ideally relevant to the day. For example, as fall approached, I looked up why some leaves are red and others are other colors. I’d illustrate the fact and then take a picture.

What I learned

Doing something every day when I went into work helped kick off the day with an accomplishment. Interestingly, my co-workers looked forward to the fun fact, too. To be honest, there were some days where I slipped. On those days, my coworkers would notice. I found that my co-workers kept me accountable. My skills improved, specifically my ability to quickly take information and illustrate it in some way.

Doing something this visual and public results in interesting accountability dynamics.

I also learned some interesting pieces of information. 😁 I’ve pulled out some of my favorites below.

Such as the (mostly agreed upon) difference between muffins and cupcakes.
How politics hasn’t changed a whole lot since our democracy was established.
And how strong human jaws can be.

--

--

Consuelo Valdes
CocoMusings

UX designer/problem solver. Vegan. Yogi. Recovering runner. Rookie weightlifter. Sustainable hippy. consuelovaldes.com