Flexing and Framing Code

Brad Hankee
Code a la Carte
Published in
2 min readApr 9, 2017

So this week was all about using flex boxes via CSS and being introduced to Bootstrap and Foundation frameworks. Flex boxes was very good as a follow up to introductory CSS since it made more sense of allowing the elements in the code to be positioned better. It was also a great lead into the bootstrap framework.

It seems like at this point I am a bigger fan of bootstrap since it uses a CDN and as far as I know Foundation is more of a full install which I do not want to get into at this time since I want to focus on actually learning the framework itself along with javascript.

Frameworks allow all the scenic aspects around it to stand out and “flow”.

Right now I am in the process of using Bootstrap to convert my portfolio website into a Bootstrap version. This has been fun and helpful in that I can make a few changes and see first hand the changes, or lack thereof.

I must say that even though I am using Bootstrap now I want to learn Foundation and others in the near future after doing some research and finding that they are in some ways more customizable and less likely to look like a template. Having a marketing degree, and some business sense, I know that standing out is essential, however; standing out while not jeopardizing usability for the end user seems to be the challenge!

— Brad Hankee

--

--

Brad Hankee
Code a la Carte

Full stack developer / foodie that writes about daily learnings.