Slice of Py: The Why

Brad Hankee
Code a la Carte
Published in
3 min readDec 14, 2017

Why I decided to learn Python and Django: I am leveraging having “new eyes” compared to developers who have been around since the days of Cobol(I did just see a job ad for it too!). Am I saying I am better… not even close, I am saying as a somewhat new developer(< 5 years) I can use that as a strength by seeing how everything may evolve without many preconceived notions .

One of the most exciting parts for me about programming is the inability of knowing what direction tech will take in the next 5, 10, 20 years. And this is also one of the most nerve racking too. I mean will my endless hours of studying be wiped out by the new language or framework in 10 years. Most likely yes and of course that’s why it is important to learn the fundamentals of programming like data structures and algos. Train your brain to think like a programmer instead of learning how to build in this or that language is some advice I won’t forget.

But, I still need to determine where to invest my time and after playing around and building in JS, swift, Python, Ruby, WordPress etc. I narrowed down my main areas to focus on. Javascript and Python, of course either one is enough to spend two lifetimes learning.

JS is obvious since it is being utilized everywhere and is full stack now. And it’s exciting with constant new frameworks coming out and being able to be in on friendly arguments why you should use the one I’m using(React…cough cough).

So why did I choose Python and Django? I almost feel like Python has the versatility of JS in the sense that it can make amazing web apps with Flask and Django(The admin user login is amazing btw), It’s the go to along with R for data and machine learning (Might be kinda big in the future) and you can build some awesome things to annoy your wife/kids with the raspberry pi!

This is by no means me pushing my opinion onto others but a way to show relief in that I have finally narrowed down a hundred different roads to 2. Ok 2 that have about 50 roads each, but better none the less.

From my novice challenges I have faced thus far I would say trying to decide what and how to learn things has been the hardest.Being able to find one or two things that fit your personality and goals, both short and long term, is a relief and look forward to deep diving in each while writing about them and seeing how each evolve in the future.

IMPORTANT: I also understand that narrow mindedness and avoiding change is very, very bad in this industry so of course I will have some side projects to be able to see what differences and strengths other languages offer.

Find me here.

Brad Hankee

--

--

Brad Hankee
Code a la Carte

Full stack developer / foodie that writes about daily learnings.