Interview with a Code Enigma member

Maygen Jacques
Code Enigma
Published in
3 min readJul 29, 2019

Heather Smith

Heather is our Support Desk Manager. Her day-to-day (or week) involves making sure our client’s tickets get answered in a timely manner. She’s the ticket wizard of Code Enigma; working with the clients to prioritise the tasks in their support queue, and planning development retainers closely with clients who hold them with us. She’s here to make sure our clients get value on their support contracts, and ensure they are kept informed about timelines for work and progress on current issues.

Four interesting things about Heather

  1. I have performed on stage at the West Yorkshire Playhouse (Leeds) and Grand Opera House (York)
  2. In a past life, I was a keen drummer (although I haven’t picked up the sticks in some years)
  3. I have a tattoo and I ride a motorbike (badass right? ;) )
  4. If you go far enough back in my family tree, I am a very distant relative of the Earl of Sutherland. We have a clan castle and everything! (Dunrobin castle)

How did you start a career in tech?

I sort of fell into it. I studied for an Advanced Diploma in IT services whilst at college, and the only module I really enjoyed was when we got hands on with computers internal workings (the rest of it was learning how to write reports on Word). From there I did a couple of administration jobs, and became the de facto tech support for the offices I worked in.

Eventually a company I was working for had an opportunity for a project support/UAT person, and I jumped at the chance to get more technical.

I grew up in a house where electronics and physics were always around, which I guess gave me a passion for technology and the digital world!

What inspires Heather in her professional life?

A strong belief that in 2019 no website has an excuse for being difficult to use, for anybody!

There’s also no reason to have an ugly website; the web world has evolved so quickly in the last 5–10 years that everybody should have the tools to create an engaging website. I am inspired by advancing technological and digital capabilities, and the fast pace of the developing technologies around us. They encourage me to think about how we can improve the world for our clients, and also to think about the deeper social impacts of some advancements.

Most of all, I’m inspired by the connectivity the web gives us. It’s uplifting to watch an 86 year old use the most basic email tools to keep in contact with their distant family members. The web opens the door to a myriad of opportunity for all!

What do you like most about working for Code Enigma?

I love the freedom I have to develop myself and learn new things. Code Enigma puts a big emphasis on community and giving back, which allows the time to learn new skills and do training for the benefit of myself and the company. To be able to have the opportunity to learn code is amazing, all made possible by CE and their approach to personal development.

The rest of the staff are also a delight to work with. We’re like-minded individuals who know when to be serious and when not to, which makes the work day so much better! Meetings rarely feel like meetings when we get together :D

--

--

Maygen Jacques
Code Enigma

Marketing Manager for web design, development and hosting agency, @CodeEnigma. Hold my drink, I’ll be right back…