Code Like Her Fellowship II — Weekly #2

Laxmi Chapagain
Code Rush Blog
Published in
4 min readFeb 9, 2022

by Laxmi Chapagain

I knew about Code Like Her Fellowship via alumni of Code Like Her. I knew about them and was inspired by their holistic growth. Talking about me, my passion for programming is completely new. I was trying hard from different available resources to make it happen but the random contents were so frustrating. All I was searching for was curated and time-bounded content with mentors and yes this was the sole purpose of me waiting patiently yet keenly for “Code Like Her”.

The application for fellowship was opened and I still remember the time when I was stressed enough because of my ongoing board exams of the 7th semester. I did not want to lose this opportunity as well, so within a short span of time, I managed to fill out the application form. Never had I thought of my application form being shortlisted. I was happy after receiving an email for virtual exams. My exam experience was weird as I have made a number of mistakes out of nervousness but fortunately, I was shortlisted for a technical interview as well. Well, my interview was kind of okay, but I was not confident enough about my selection. Guess what?? I was selected and yes, I might have been the happiest child that day!

The first week of our fellowship was “Design Thinking” mentored by Sabina Maharjan di, and it was wonderful. In this blog, I will be explaining our second week of fellowship. Ever wondered about getting your wish in your palm? I was happy and positive as I was getting something I was desperately seeking for.

Our second week commenced with Git and GitHub sessions. I knew about a few git commands but I was completely ignorant of how that command works. Big gratitude to our Sagun Karanjit dai, our mentor for git and Javascript workshop who gave us detailed insight on “How Github works in terms of protocol”? Similarly, we learned the workflow of git and various git commands. Along with Git and GitHub, we had classes on HTML too. HTML was not new for me, but after our classes, I realized there were so many things I actually overlooked. We learned about the < head> tag which includes all information of that webpage including the meta tag. Similarly,the tags with no ending like <link> tag, <br> tag , <hr> tag. The differences between <link> tag and <button> tag including the research on attribute name

and value of “rel” type were adding significant value in my learning journey and making me more confident and I am loving it completely.

Figure: Demo of research on “rel” attribute of link tag with value and description

We had an assignment to develop a newspaper with pure HTML and yes we all fellows did it, though we were clueless initially. Furthermore, we learned debugging by inspecting different websites and preparing reports on our inspected websites. These assignments have undoubtedly enhanced my research and learning skills. And this was the time we started pushing our codes in Github. Not to mention here, the concept of shifting origin in git was completely new for me.

Figure: Demo of Newspaper with pure HTML

We had a better understanding of the <table> tag and we developed an email template using HTML tables only. This was pretty much challenging but we all did it. Cheers! If you are trying web development, the concept of block elements, inline elements, and inline-block elements is pretty confusing, right? We now had a better understanding of those elements including HTML semantics ( header, section, footer, aside, nav, main, article, input types). You can view my work here.

Figure: Demo of E-mail template using HTML tables only

Learning new things has been wonderful and I am happy to be selected in “Code Like Her ”. Needless to say, I am even more grateful to be in this ecosystem of like-minded and positive humans where all fellows are cared for, respected, and valued! Looking forward to implementing my learnings!

About the Author:

Laxmi Chapagain is a final-year student of Electronics and Communication Engineering at IOE, Purwanchal Campus (Dharan). She carries the belief that any dreams can be accomplished with sheer determination and hard work in the proper direction. She aims to be capable enough for impacting the lives around her.

--

--

Laxmi Chapagain
Code Rush Blog

Learning, sharing and constantly evolving! I make things work because I write codes.