Code Like Her Fellowship II — Weekly #3

Krishiyana bhakta
Code Rush Blog
Published in
4 min readFeb 17, 2022

Krishiyana Bhakta

The pressure of choosing the right career path was increasing day by day from the time I finished college. I was in a great dilemma and was continuously seeking opportunities to learn and enhance my programming skills. During my college time, I completed a few college projects through which I became familiar with different programming languages, web frameworks, and databases. I learnt through different online platforms but whenever I got stuck at some error, I used to get demotivated, and not being under proper guidance reverted me to zero. But I didn’t give up and kept on looking at various online courses, internships, and many more help me grow my skills and compete professionally.

In between this search, I came to know about the “Code Like Her-II” fellowship. I went through the process and the course content. I realized, the courses were something I was looking for, so I applied immediately. From basic to advance, it was all included and I wanted to be a part of this learning journey. Without any more delays, I filled up the form and waited patiently for the reply. Eventually, I got selected for the online test and I did well in the test, but there was a huge number of applicants which gave me the second thought of whether I will be selected or not for the next round. Luckily after two weeks, I received an email for an interview round and I gave my best to be a part of this fellowship. And yes, I got selected for this journey of learning and exploring through the “Code Like Her-II” fellowship.

The fellowship program started with UI/UX training which lasted for 3 weeks. Starting with the design thinking concept along with a few sessions of version control, on week 3 we learnt about Responsive Design. We were assigned to make a fully responsive design of a webpage given by our instructor. We had to write code for mobile view, tablet view, and desktop view. At first, I thought it would be easy but on doing it I found it quite difficult. After trying more, I completed my assignment. Similarly, on the next day, we learned about Layout Breakdown. As it sounds easy but on doing it, one has to be very careful as there are chances of missing the mentioned components. We all practiced the layout breakdown by drawing it down on paper.

To make layout breakdown hassle-free, different landing pages, design prototypes, our instructor introduced us to the designing interface app “Figma”, where we can design any type of layout, any kind of prototype without any code. Within a few minutes, our instructor made a simple yet beautiful captivating design in Figma, describing the different tools and their uses.

Fig 1: Layout Breakdown

Following the main motive of the week, we learnt more components of CSS and the importance of time estimation for completing our project before we start to write code.

Fig 2: Time Estimation

Besides the regular morning classes, we also have a sync up call every evening. I am grateful to learn from my fellow friends during our sync-up session. We discuss and try to resolve our confusion or any problem related to our assignments. As we all are in our initial phase, we are learning something new everyday which fascinates me. Code Like Her platform has provided us with proper guidance which I was seeking for since my graduation. The overall fellowship has helped us to develop our skills in all aspects. I am forever thankful for this opportunity and look forward to much more.

About the Author:

Krishiyana Bhakta is a motivated tech enthusiast with an academic background in Software Engineering from NCIT college. Her thirst to learn and thrive as a software developer has always driven her to improve her programming skills.
“It’s never too late to start.” And with this reminder, she has been initiating to learn new things, in order to explore ,grow and serve in possible ways.

--

--