Code Like Her Fellowship, week #1

Sindhu Aryal
Code Rush Blog
Published in
3 min readJul 12, 2020

by Sindhu Aryal

The first week of Code Like Her fellowship was quite interesting. We started our course with the basic principles of design in software and in the web. I came to know about the design of the things I have been surrounded by and started to develop a keen eye for the design of everyday things.

Our classes start at 8 AM. I must say, I have developed a habit of getting up at around 5:30 AM every day since the fellowship started. Since my days start with all the good vibes, it has been helping me to stay positive and motivated throughout the day. I am enjoying how productive I have been so far.

During the first week, I learned about the importance of color and the meaning it carries within itself. The classes made me aware of the typography on my mobile phone and even my laptop which somehow I had always taken for granted. One of the first assignments we were given was ‘to find examples of good and bad design in our vicinity’. Never had I ever thought that some of the apps and websites that I was uncomfortable with, were examples of bad design. I feel like I have gained some perspectives on identifying good and bad design and the consequences design can have on user experience. The same day, at the end of our classes we listened to music and noticed the effect it had upon us.

On the second day, we learned the concept of UI / UX. I came to know that a user interface is the point of interaction between the user and a digital device or a product. Similarly, UX is how we feel when we look at the site/product. This day I learned about basic principles of design like proximity, space, alignment, contract, hierarchy, and repetition. In just the 2 days of my class, I knew this is exactly the kind of training I was looking for. Even though I had only covered the basics, yet my perspective of looking into things was completely different.

zoom, the new classroom

We have a friendly facilitator, who makes sure every student understands the course material. I appreciate the effort of our mentors to help us understand the content. I am grateful to the teaching methodology where we get a chance to build leadership and presentation skills alongside.

I used to have a hectic schedule before joining the Code Like Her fellowship, even if I wanted to dedicate my time to enhance my skills, I was unable to do so. This made me feel hopeless as I was having a hard time coping with time management. Currently, I have set my priorities and I am learning to manage my time based on them.

Personally, it felt like the week went by in the blink of an eye. The sessions were much more informative than I had expected. The fellowship has provided such interesting and interactive sessions. I am looking forward to completing the rest of the journey with the same enthusiasm that I have now.

About the Author

Sindhu is a final year undergraduate student of Information Technology at Butwal Multiple Campus. She has a passion for learning and growth and believes in giving back to the community of her shared values.

Currently, she has been working with Butwal Coder Girls for more than 2 years and is an active member of the WordPress Butwal Community.

Besides spending time with her family and friends, she enjoys reading books and attending technology events.

--

--