Code Like Her Fellowship, week #4

Kritika Baral
Code Rush Blog
Published in
3 min readAug 4, 2020

by Kritika Baral

The lockdown had really made me so lethargic. I killed most of my time watching movies and sleeping. However, I could see everyone was taking this lockdown as an opportunity to become a better version of themselves. Following the trend, I also tried learning a few programming languages through different online courses but it was quite stressful for me to grasp the contents. I was having a hard time understanding the basics and content flow.

During this stressful situation, Code Like Her came to me as an opportunity to learn programming. I was quite skeptical at the beginning and confused at the same time as I was wondering if this fellowship was something that would be appropriate for me to gain the missing knowledge. I must say, I have made a very good decision by becoming a part of this fellowship.

The first 3 weeks were very exciting and we completed the entire syllabus of design and design thinking. The fourth week commenced with the basics of Javascript. Our tutor provided us a clear idea of variables, data types, array, object, comparison and operators, conditionals, loops, functions, procedural and OOP concepts. He helped us understand the primitive and non-primitive data types used in javascript very well. The next day we read high order array methods (i.e forEach, map, filter, reduce) and how a function can be defined in different ways.

First assignment of Javascript

We practiced defining the anonymous functions and passing functions as parameters the other day. The concept of hoisting and scoping was taught to us another day. Then we entered the topic of DOM manipulation. Here we learned retrieving, accessing, modifying, and creating elements. We were introduced to Event handling methods and asynchronous actions also.

Our trainer provided us with assignments every day so that we could do some research and broaden our understanding.

I have an amazing experience with the fellowship. From waking up early to do research about previously taught contents to spending the whole day making attempts to complete the daily assignments, the whole one month has been quite interesting and challenging for me. I developed a habit of researching, reading, and analyzing the documentation. Despite the busy schedule, my mentors are always available to help me overcome the confusion and complete the assignments. Talking about my fellow-buddies, they are very kind and helpful. Everyone here has an enthusiasm to learn, share, and grow together. We all share a sisterhood kind of vibe between us.

I find no words to thank Code Rush for providing me this opportunity. I am glad to be a part of this wonderful family. As John C. Maxwell said, “One of the greatest values of mentors is the ability to see ahead what others cannot see and to help them navigate a course to their destination”, I am very grateful and blessed to have these amazing mentors in this fellowship.

Because of them, I am able to recognize my worth now. “Work smarter, not harder” is the only thing they always want us to consider. I hope to learn more until the end of the fellowship program. I am confident, this program will definitely be a stepping stone for me to begin my professional life.

About the Author:

Kritika Baral is a student and an aspiring developer, currently studying Computer Engineering as a 4th Year student. She is involved as an Outreach Coordinator ambassador in Girls in Tech — Nepal. She is a strong believer in the power of positive thinking and loves to spend her time in nature. She is passionate about technology and literature and is always willing to explore new things. In her spare time, she enjoys reading books, watching movies and listening to songs.

--

--