Code Like Her Weekly #11

Pooja Gurung
Code Rush Blog
Published in
3 min readOct 2, 2020

by Pooja Gurung

Code Like Her Fellowship has been a wonderful opportunity for me to learn about programming.

As an Engineering graduate, I was in dilemma about my career and had no clue which career I should be focusing on. As I was going with this dilemma, the corona outbreak forced us to stay home all of a sudden which was kind of frustrating. Even though I spent days looking over online tutorials, webinars to enhance the skills I was still hopeless about my career. In between, I came to know about Code Like Her Fellowship organized by Code Rush. I prepared my resume and filled the application being hopeful.

I got an email about my selection in Code Like Her Fellowship and invitation to attend the orientation on the same day my final year result was announced.

In the 11th week, we continued with the fundamentals of the database with PostgresSQL. Although we learned about the API during our react class, we were able to establish a connection between API and database by this week. Then our facilitator introduced us to the todo application using backend where we learned about CRUD operations in detail. It was fascinating to see how simple lines of code helped us to add new data update additional information or delete the existing data. On the next day, we performed Seeding and Password Hashing/Matching. We also learned about creating simple user login authentication. We concluded the week by learning preventive measures to secure API through token-based authentication by JWT.

The part of our fellowship was our evening sync up sessions where we discussed the problems we faced while practing class lessons and finishing our assignments. This was also an opportunity for us to communicate with other fellows. We are having a great time discussing our problems and solving it among the fellows and when time permits we are also gossiping about how our days are going and getting to know each other better. These sync up sessions has also helped us find our lost track and taught us the meeting of collaboration.

Code Like Her journey has been a remarkable journey in my life. With every training and lessons, I have experienced a new journey that has made me confident. Now I am able to believe myself. Thank you Code Rush for helping me explore my passion for programming. I will forever be grateful for the opportunity.

About the Author

Pooja Gurung is a Computer Engineer Graduate from Lumbini Engineering College. She loves to play Badminton, Dancing, Listening Song. She is a shy and hardworking person who aspires to become a good software developer in the future.

--

--