Code Like Her Fellowship, week #8

Barsha Maharjan
Code Rush Blog
Published in
3 min readAug 31, 2020

by Barsha Maharjan

One of the hardest things to do as a student is to choose a career path. Since there are so many options available in the technological field, there is pressure to select a career path that alines individual’s goal and interest. Since the Information and Technology field is ever-evolving, as an IT student I have always felt the necessity of understanding the foundation of each concept.

After the completion of my 1st semester, I stepped up to work in a professional world and joined a reputed real state agency at just the age of 19 years as a graphic designer. There was some responsibility that I had to fulfill as a part of my work, but honestly, I felt I was lagging. My frequent contact with developers in my office has made me fascinated to work like them. To enhance my knowledge and make my base strong, I started searching for various online courses and benefits that would help me grow professionally. But the authenticity of the course and content delivered had always made me skeptical. I am not a brilliant student, but I am willing to work hard and make my foundation strong.

In between the chaos and dilemma, I found out about Code Like Her fellowship program. The selection process was hard, But I was able to make it through. After attending the few classes, I got answers to all the queries that I had before. I learned every component and its features from the basic. To date, we have completed HTML, CSS, Javascript and React, honestly every experience is just like magic to me.

We started with React JS from the sixth week. I came to know that React JS is a declarative, efficient, and flexible JavaScript library for building the user interface. Not only I came to know about the definition, but also got familiar with the basic route and some other react components. We started to learn about Http utility, nested router, and service API. We discovered that the endless content we see in our popular social media i.e Facebook and Instagram is invoked by an infinite scroll element. Similarly, I had explores a lot of e-commerce websites that navigate the user to another page of the product, the feature was involved due to pagination. This live example is how we learned about infinite scroll elements and pagination.

zoom, our virtual classroom

We were also introduced with axious library which provides a simple API for getting started with HTTP requests. While working on our application we were having difficulty getting into axious library uses. There’s when our mentor helped us to grab the concept by using the async-await method in detail and also briefly introduced the get post method. He was calm enough to explain until we had our concept clear.

I used to check on a website and application and wonder how things work, But now I am working to create an application myself. It is making me very happy to create an application with my self-knowledge and research. I am grateful for this fellowship for making me mindful that I was yesterday.

About the Author:

Barsha Maharjan is an undergraduate student studying the BICT course at Virinchi College affiliated to Asian University. She pays high attention to detail to ensure accuracy and consistency in her performance for the competition of any task.

--

--