Create your own (reduced) Unity game engine in typescript, part 1 of 3

Building blocks concepts

Marcos Vinícius Silva
Code Thoughts

--

  1. (you’re here) Building blocks concepts
  2. Editing the game [no plans regarding when]
  3. Playing what you built [no plans regarding when]

Disclaimer: I have no way to know if Unity works as I suppose it does. This text is only my personal attempt for studying.

I assume you know the basics of Unity in order to understand this text.

Diclaimer II: I had started this text in a computer that I no longer have access to, and of course I commited the cardinal sin of not pushing the few lines of code I had — currently I have no plans to go back to this text because of this, so no part II and II in a foreseable future.

TL;DR;

We’ll use an architectural pattern to create a simple proof of concept. No code in this first part.

Let’s make a game… engine!

Games were how I started developing software. I’ve used Game Factory and some RPG Makers before learning to program, and then I jumped to Unity.

As I didn’t have much programming experience at the time, Unity seemed like magic because it was highly customizable. I couldn’t…

--

--