Why i started Code With Girls.

Code with girls
Code With Kids
Published in
2 min readDec 16, 2016

Somebody once told me that girls are capable of doing things they thought they couldn’t do, this has always motivated me to try new challenges in life and try and get more girls to learn about coding. Starting code with girls has given me a platform to be able to try and change the mindsets of many girls in the society. Together we play, learn, work, and talk about what we could do with codes.
By encouraging girls to code we are creating a chance for more girls to get to learn more about technology and how they can come up with solutions to real problems.
I have learnt that the best thing to keep someone moving forward is to learn from people who are already working in the field of your interest. Reaching out and making an effort to go and participate in Code with girls sessions, talking about what I do, makes the girls see a pathway to a career for themselves and helps them see that Technology and coding is not a Boy’s thing, I have learnt to encourage girls that technology is a trend they should follow and always keep it trendy when it comes to using technology just as they keep it trendy with their clothes and makeups.
Code with Girls has given me a platform where i can figure out how my skills and experience could help most girls learn more about technology and enjoy it has they grow.
Code With Girls has been in existence since March 2014 when I attended Java programming class for the first time. (Madam Mary Mujaw) was my lecturer and she taught me with passion and it became a motivation to me, which led to the formation of Code With Girls club.

--

--

Code with girls
Code With Kids

Our Vision is to increase the number of girls in the Tech space through exposure to computer science and Technology.