Google India Challenge Scholarship:Staircase To My Dream

Diviya
Code Yoga
Published in
5 min readApr 3, 2018

Before reading,you must be aware of who I am .I am Diviya from Jammu and Kashmir and currently, I am in the last year of M.C.A

Well, before starting out, I would like to tell a bit more about myself and how I reached there.Since a child, I have always been fascinated by this tech world and always wanted to enroll in a computer science degree but due to some personal reasons I was not able to do so after my high school and got enrolled in a science degree.There was always a kind of regret that I felt during those three years and finally I decided I cannot live with such regret for a lifetime and finally enrolled in a Masters of Computer Science course.At that time, mostly everyone opposed me as WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOING!! CHANGING YOUR STREAM FROM SCIENCE TO COMPUTER SCIENCE, it’s not gonna be easy but I have trust in myself and did that I want.I got to know what coding is, starting from C, C++ and then finally JAVA.As I knew that Android is written in Java, I always have a special love for this subject and then in the last year, I decided to learn android.I searched online for every possible resource I can and then got to know about Udacity.

I started to take Udacity’s free courses.No matter how much i say, Udacity’s courses are made up of the best ever content and they have made these courses in such a simple and basic manner that anyone…LITERALLY, ANYONE can start to learn android development from there.Eventually, Udacity made me fall in love with this android world and now I know what I want to do in my future but don’t know how to start and then learnt about the advantages of the nanodegrees and really wanted to do but as I am still a student, I cannot ask my parents for this as they are already paying high amounts as my college’s fee and one day I saw that there is some scholarship programme going on but that’s only for U.S residents, I really got disappointed and thought as why they are being partial and mailed Udacity’s team(SO STUPID OF ME THOUGH) and that’s the reply that I got.

and then on November 23, I got to know about this scholarship and I was really surprised, excited, happy, lots of emotions going on together.(GOD REALLY LISTENS TO YOU SOMETIMES) and I didn’t wait for a moment and applied on the same day.After that day, I used to check my mail daily hoping to listen from the team and after the long wait on the 7 February, it was a really Good Morning when I woke up with this email

Now GOD has done his job by directing me here and now it’s my duty to make the most of it and on 14 February when all the couples are celebrating their love, we all people also started our journey with our love(ANDROID) and we were told to join slack and discussion forum.

In the start, it was really an overwhelming experience for me when I saw so many enthusiastic people in the community.So the course started and within a week an announcement was made by Akshit Sir for the moderator form, I was really excited to be one and filled the form but unfortunately, didn’t get selected but after some days, the form reopen and that time, I applied for #jammu_kashmir channel and YAYY!I got selected and now it’s my task to keep that channel active and people involved.I tried but due to a minimal number of students from our state, the channel was not that active so I made a Quiz to keep people involved and it was my first time that I made a Quiz.I made a quiz on lifecycle basics as that’s the one I loved the most.I got positive responses from scholars and that made me really happy.

I got motivated by such positive responses and decided to make another one and working on that.

Being with so many awesome developers is an opportunity of a lifetime who are always there to help you out.You just need to post in the community and everyone is happy to help you out.I also do post many queries and also gave answers to others.Now it’s in my daily routine to check slack and forums.There are many other quizzes too created by other moderators and I make sure to participate in all of them even if I don’t know anything because I really find them interesting.

These are some key points that I have learned from this journey so far and will gonna be with me for a lifetime

>No doubt is big or small unless you ask it out without any hesitation.

>Never compare your beginning with someone’s middle as they might have more experience and are learning from a long time.

>You can learn anytime if you think this is not the right time to learn, that time is never gonna come.

>Your knowledge remains limited unless you don’t share it with others.

THANKYOU UDACITY AND GOOGLE for this awesome opportunity.I can never thank you guys enough!Now I know what I want to do in my life.Got exposed to so many android concepts and an awesome active community.

Thanks for your patience,do clap if you like it and I really APOLOGIZE in advance for any grammatical mistakes.This is my first ever post if you spot any error do correct me.

--

--