How Udacity’s Scholarship changed a Dropout’s Life!

Shubham Soni
Code Yoga
Published in
3 min readMar 31, 2018

I’m a University Dropout Student and a programmer.I just love the idea of programming ever since I got to know about it.I live in a society where barely anyone knows what a programming language is and what is it used for.I have been using computers since the 6th standard for playing games, games and more games.I have played every game that my computer could support(If you know most awesome games has most advanced requirements).When I was in 11th Standard I have taken computer science and was only student in my school to take Computer Science.I don’t know why anyone didn’t take CS apart from me but It turned into fun for me.I use to take my Laptop to the Computer Lab and stay there almost whole time after making my attendance.I passed 12th standard with 71.6% and failed to get admission into any Reputed University.Also, I don’t have much money to take admission through donation(Indian Students Could Understand).In a country where everyone judges with your marks it is so embarrassing to satisfy anyone with this marks.At last, I headed towards a local University and taken admission.In Bihar Universities are there to only take exams and give your degree.There’s nothing for you “no class, no attendance, no lectures nothing!” So, I chose to be a dropout rather than holder of a freely given degree.

After all this, I decided to become a programmer and I started from java and hit the books, searched all over the internet and also furrowed into the open source community.But even after seeking all these places, I always missed something.One mourning I got a mail from Udacity saying “We are excited to offer you a Google India Challenge Scholarship for the Android Developer track”.

I was amazed and shocked, it was a mixture of some feeling simultaneous bursting out.Because when you feel joining something connected to Google or Udacity it feels like you have hit the Jackpot!

Until then I never thought about the things going to happen in my life, as I thought it was going to be a simple video-lecture course.Then I started my course joining Slack and Forum.I was mesmerized sensing So many like-minded people in one place.I discovered how we can help each other, learn and solve problems together.Although the course material was awe-inspiring and better than books.The best thing Udacity gifted was the community and its members.I love how everyone helps and contribute to the community.This community isn’t just for this course instead Udacity joined us and formed a community for Life.

Yes, yes I know that’s not the actual photo of our community but it is damn close to the community.Everyone is unique in its own manner and knows how to make the community more awesome. Everyone there on Slack and Udacity Forum seems to have some sort of hidden superpower as they give up everything to solve any problem.

Yes, I missed the community and the art of learning together.I was astonished and glad that Google and Udacity had given me this chance to take my life into a better direction.Now, I know degree doesn’t matter, knowledge does.And if we have a such an community where knowledge is flowing from every corner, then its not hard to learn and achieve anything.

--

--

Shubham Soni
Code Yoga

Senior Executive @Ketto @Dart @Flutter @Java @Android, Editor @FlutterCommunity @CodeBurst.io, App Developer @Senior @Moderator @FlutterDeveloper