My Experience: Google India Challenge Scholarship

Anamika Tripathi
Code Yoga
Published in
3 min readMar 26, 2018
Scholarship badge

It all started with Google developer days & Google’s Reskilling India Program. Being a Udacity courses fan, I decided it within seconds that I’m going to fill up this form & so, I did.

7th Feb,2018: Received a mail mentioning “ Congratulations Anamika! Hi Anamika,We are excited to offer you a Google India Challenge Scholarship for the Android Developer track. We received applications from many talented and motivated candidates, and yours truly stood out.”

So me!

14th Feb, 2018: It was officially announced with all information. I was pretty excited, like everyone else. Shared it on different platforms like LinkedIn, Twitter & so on. Ps: Did you notice that it’s Valentine’s day too? LOL…

1 week later: Akshit announced that we can fill the channel moderator & I did. Guess What? I got selected too. ( #lesson07_preferences) Yayyyyy!

To be honest, It was a bit overwhelming, so many developers with their vast knowledge & trying to learn and be active on the slack channel. Though as they say, NEVER LOSE HOPE & I didn’t.

I started revising the concepts & creating notes from them. (I have almost completed the course provided as a part of free courses one year back). I tried to become active on the slack channel along with the learning process.

2 weeks later: To increase participation in the channel, I created a quiz after 15days. Since, I’ve always been a student, framing questions was a difficult task to achieve & I tried my best.To make the quiz more exciting, I enabled the marking on every questions & response was AWESOME. It was really motivating.
During this period, Rahul Malhotra(Channel moderator of delhi_ncr) planned a meetup and I contacted him to ask for some time so that I can propose a talk also. Even though I was really late for it, He assured me that He’ll try to accommodate sometime for my talk & He did.
Due to many quizzes going around, a separate channel was created & I created a separate quiz for #SQLite. It went pretty well too.

Giving my talk on Android Performance

24th Mar, 2018: Reached the event venue late (blame it on my alarm lol). I saw that was totally unexpected. A hall full of people & it took me at least 30sec to spot a free chair for myself.Though I was pretty excited to challenge myself. I wasn’t really prepared as a speaker to give my talk on Android Performance. Introduced Myself with the help of Open source contribution & It did provided some good image on audience’s mind :p Gave my talk, tried my best to engage & not let anybody sleep by getting bored & It worked. I learned it from Udacity course & shared the knowledge back to Udacity Scholars. Yayyyy! 😺 #perfMatters

Thanks to other speakers, I got to learn Youtube API usage & brushed up my existing knowledge. Thanks to Rahul Malhotra for organizing such a wonderful meeting.

Let’s come to the fun part now!!!

DelhiGoogleUdacityScholars

We played Dumb-Charades on Android related keywords. It was really fun :D It was pretty easy for me, Guess LOLLYPOP 😅 We also recorded our experience of the whole event & it very fun, the whole process. Thank you Investopad for giving us the platform to interact & learn together.

This is just the beginning. I’ll be trying my best to utilize the resource provided & share my knowledge with others. Thank you Google Developers & Udacity India for giving us this opportunity. This couldn’t have been possible without YOU!

--

--

Anamika Tripathi
Code Yoga

Android Developer @Zomato | Google Udacity Scholar | GSoC19 Mentor @Mifos | GSoC18 student @systers_org | GCI Mentor | Tech speaker