My journey Of Google India Challenge Scholarship

ViveK Panchal
Code Yoga
Published in
4 min readMay 12, 2018

About Me

i am vivek panchal from new Delhi . I have done my graduation in Computer science and engineering from W.C.T.M in 2017.

Past Experience:

In 2017 i got placed through my college in a startup company as intern i learned a little bit about android as that company is startup and they taught me android basics which i already am aware. they teach me very basic stuff which i already know .

hell that was really boring days when i go there and sit to learn things which i already know. instead of treating me as intern i feel like i am siting in a coaching center there so i quit going there and do work from home and send them whatever they told me to do .

In the final year we have to submit the projects and my company didn't give me any project neither they helped me .So i made my own project called the chat bot based on AI powered by IBM watson conversation[now known as Watson Assistant] you can check the link to my repository on Github here

Then due to my family and everyone around me i got a little diverted from my interests And enrolled in a institute for preparing for SSC even though i dont love studying history and blah blah..!!! i felt like my life was being wasted not doing what you love makes you really boring and irritating person as well so i did the SSC preparation but yet in doing so keep doing little stuff of my own.

hope you all heared this Beta govt ki tyaari krle bht scope hai .

During that coaching i learned a little about web-development i got to know about the front end development and little bit of GitHub even though i am not good at it but i learned a lot. i learned about Github pages i made my own Portfolio website there put up my all projects that i made there but i always feel like i am lost . while googling stuff i found about the scholarship program and i filed it ..!!!

7th Feb 2018 :

seems like i got lucky and i got this mail from Udacity India

seriously that was an amazing feeling i didn't knew about Udacity and its free courses that time all i was learning was only through YouTube. !!

then i started learning android from scratch i didn't knew that there soo much things that i have never heard of so i loved the lessons there by doing soo i brush up my skills again and during this amazing learning journey of this scholarship challenge i got to know that doing what you love is all that matter !!! so i decided to follow my heart and do what i love in future.

Scholarship Experiences :

firstly coming to Slack and Udacity forum is soo overwhelming it like a tsunami of messages every time i open it just an amazing community . if i got stuck somewhere i just send a message and vola my query is solved in just few minutes i got answer's !!

during this journey we had a lot of quizzes made by moderators of different channels of slack we had Practical challenges that helped me alot. we had a meetup in Delhi NCR group that is organised by “Rahul mahlotra” moderator of our channel #Delhi_ncr .

This is really an amazing experience meeting soo many developers . There were some scholars who also gave presentation on different topics of Android. First presentation was made by Sudhanshu — on Fragments, Second was from Praneet on Youtube Api’s, Third from Anamika on Android Performance.That was really an amazing meetup learned a lot and we even played Dumb-Charades on Android keywords .

this was the best day of my life meeting so many amazing people

we had collaborative projects on which i contributed a little bit. during which i learned more about GitHub, how to send pull request how Github help in maintaining versions of file. overall i learned a lot here.

There so much to tell but i guess i have to stop here ,Thanks Everyone in the community -Fellow mates , Moderators -Akshit sir and Udacity India who are managing all of this,i am really lucky to be a part of this amazing community.

Thank you @google and Udacity India for giving us this Great opportunity to connect with likely minded peoples. I have been a part of this community and i am very happy for that. I wish this community will be active even after the scholarship programs end regardless if we got selected or not.

that’s my Experience from starting to end. Thank you so much for reading this. Please clap if you liked this article

--

--